Sausage Applesauce Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
It's surprising how good this recipe is with only 4, seemingly oddly matched, ingrediants! I only had sweet Italian sausage so I added a little cayenne and cut down the amount of sugar. Was wonderful and can't wait to try it unchanged.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
WOW WOW WOW! This was spectacular! I used homemade applesauce and some of the Johnsonville sweety sausages and removed it from the casing before cooking it. Then threw in the applesauce and sugar and onion and cooked it. I wrapped it up in phyllo dough and baked it instead of baking it alltogether to make for an easier snack and had I not syopped my boyfriend, he would have eaten all of them! This will be getting made again soon! My mom's already requested that I make it for her after hearing my rave reviews. Spectacularly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
so easy and a real crowd pleaser! I used spicy italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHATTY304

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I didn't like this recipe. Maybe because I used applesauce with cinnamon. I won't be making it again, but because of all the rest of the great reviews, try it for yourself! Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was a hit, everyone loved it and it was so easy to make. Don't mind making this appetizer when I am too busy to cook! I am going to try making it with spicy sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I used this sauce on slices of precooked jalepeno sausage and served with toothpicks as an appetizer. Everyone loved it- I had tried this sausage previously and it was way to spicy for me but this sauce was wonderful and toned down the spiciness of the sausage. Want to try this again using precooked garlic sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This recipe is good but needs some adjustments. First, 2 pounds of sausage is just way too much for an appetizer designed for 8 people(1 link per person). I used 1.5 pounds (6 links) for 12 people and that was still a lot. Second, there is way too much brown sugar in the original recipe. I added 2 Tbsp and that was plenty. Next time I'll try it with none at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This is a great recipe. It was so easy to make, great for a make ahead appetizer. After tasting the sausage and commenting to my husband how good it was, he informed me he added beer to the skillet after he browned the meat. We cooked the sausage in a pan with chopped onions, browned, then added 1/4 cup beer. The second time we made it we used alittle less brown sugar, much better, not so sweet. Really Good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
With all the high ratings, I really thought this would be amazing. Instead, it was too sweet and the combination of flavors was strange. I made it exactly as written. No one at the party particularly liked it, and it even looked unappetizing. Now I'll have to find a use for all this leftover sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizzykitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
I have been trying out some appetizer recipes for an upcoming open house.My Hubby Loved Loved Loved It. I thought it a little sweet, but I don't particuarly like real sweet, hubby does. It's a keeper.I did like the defnite apple taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States