Sausage Applesauce Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I used turkey sausage, sugarfree splenda, sugarfree applesauce, and doubled the onion. A good recipe for diabetics, but I've had better sausage recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This is....weird. First, 3/4 cup of brown sugar is WAY OVER THE TOP. Like teeth hurting kind of too sweet. I only made it because I was slightly intrigued by the combinations but there are some major flaws. First, using an Italian hot sausage was probably not the best choice. Second, I only used 1/4 cup of brown sugar and had to increase the applesauce to probably almost 2 cups. The onions NEED to be sauteed in a little butter and salt BEFORE adding them. I think maybe adding some green or red bell pepper would be better, use a sweeter or saltier sausage and do NOT use 3/4 cup of brown sugar. The first couple of bites were weird and unpleasant. Following bites were better though I still find this bizarre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Most everyone enjoyed these....they are a tad sweet. I think they would benefit from some red bell pepper and chunk pineapple. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I just realized I haven't rated this recipe. I have been making it for several years for get togethers. I rarely have any leftovers. I do make sure the sausage is good and browned before I mix it with the other ingredients. If its only lightly browned it doesn't taste quite as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These are very good! Used Bob Evans Italian sausage, Splenda brown sugar, regular Motts applesauce, and dried minced onion. Only baked for 30 minutes since we made a fraction of the recipe, which was just the right amount of time. Also formed the sausage into small balls instead of cutting up patties. The chunky applesauce would probably be better than plain, but even so this came out nicely sweet with just a little kick from the onion. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This was a really easy fast recipe. I love the fact that there are only 4 ingredients. I sauteed the onions before I added them and used hot Italian Sausage. The combination of Hot from the Sausage and the sweet from the brown sugar and applesauce really goes well together. Will definitely make this again in a pinch. Thanks! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This recipe is ok, not great. It just tastes like sausage and onion. The sauce it made is just so, so. It's hard to disciminate between the sugar and the oil from the sausage. Maybe try hotter sausage as another reviewer suggested?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Anytime something can be made ahead of time it automatically gets one star! But on top if that it was a huge crowd pleaser at my party. I do agree that it was a tad sweet and would recommend a spicy sausage to try and counter that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINCESSLTRAIN
Home Town: Edgewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Not bad but nothing to write home about. It also does not look pleasing to the eye. It just sat there. It was tried but but no one came back for more. Big disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
it was so so nothing exciting won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States