Sausage Applesauce Appetizer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
The BEST ever for our Tail-gate party. I used kielbasa and added beer in the last couple minutes of frying. I also added less brown sugar and a spoon full of apricot preserves to applesauce mixture. I baked it 40 minutes, then put it in a crock-pot so people could graze on it as they wish. It turned to a nice glaze. I served it with toothpicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Quick and easy recipe. I read most of the comments before I made the dish. I have to say you do need to use chuncky applesauce because it seems the regular apple sauce would be too "runny". The chunky applesause constitency was just like chutney. I also read a lot of users sauteed the onions before they baked them with the sausage. I'm not sure why because the onions will sautee in the oven. I just placed the raw onions in the oven with the sausage and they were fine. I also used HOT Italian sausage and only about 1/4 cup of sugar. The dish was delicious. I mean come on, the sausage sells itself :) I hope you enjoyed my comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I thought it sounded interesting, but this was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made this Christmas Eve and everyone ate it but no one asked for the recipe ...but I thought it was tasty . I think next time I'll try it with chicken sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ant08
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I added a green and red bell pepper to it and served over rice! LOVE LOVE LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is definitely one of the best recipes to try! Great for dinner parties. Simple and doesn't take up a lot of time. I have made this multiple times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Very good. I didn't give it more stars because I did modify the sauce quite a bit. I made the sauce separate first by adding apple sauce, brown sugar, honey, 1/2 cup of beer, 1/4 cup of prepared bbq sauce, some minced garlic, and about a tablespoon of crushed pineapple. I also added a dash of cayenne pepper to add some heat. This was good. My family actually loved the sauce more than the meat. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made it with CHICKEN Italian sweet sausage. Cut sugar by half. there was hardly a need to drain, because it was chicken not pork. Used what ever drippings to sauté the onions till soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Excellent. Totally devoured at a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This was simple to make & so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States