Sausage and Vegetable Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I have never made Risotto, until now! This recipie was so easy, and extremely tasty! My kids loved it, and they don't usually like asparagus! I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springport, Michigan, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I have never made Risotto before, but I hear it being used in a lot of movies I've watched. For the amount of work involved, because I had to constantly stir the rice, It was not worth the time. I don't know if I can make risotto in my rice maker. That would make this an instant 5 star. We really liked it mainly because it already included our vegetable servings and the sausage/veggie combo was delicious. I think I'll do this again maybe just using basmatti rice or quinoa and see how it turns out. No photo this time. My camera froze and I lost everything during the reset.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cwby2nz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
If you've made risotto before then you know it will take a lot of stirring and extra time, and this recipe was well-worth the effort. The taste is fresh and yummy because of the fresh asparagus, peas and mushroom. The creaminess comes from the risotto if you stirred it enough! Even reheated the next day, this dish will be a staple in my family-loved it because the sausage gave it the spices and flavors that it needed. Thanks, Johnsonville!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by BlessedBaker
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This was ok. It was good, but nothing special and a lot of work for what it was. I may or may not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I've made this dish quite a few times and really enjoyed it. However, the directions never tell you when to put the asparagus in. I almost forgot about the asparagus as I was following along with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Just about any dish with Johnsonville Italian Sausage is going to be good. And this one is fantastic! I left out the peas, so I added a bit more fresh asparagus to compensate. The rice was cooked al dente. I'd recommend using imported Italian cheese. After you try the real thing, nothing else tastes as good. It's the difference between a good dish and a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I only gave this a four star because I tweaked it a bit to my family's tastes and what was in my fridge. It was a huge hit though with the kids. It was a lot of stirring but I feel it was well worth the effort because that was the hardest part! I substituted Italian Chicken Sausage and omitted the mushrooms and peas. I did not have any fresh asparagus so I had to check the freezer for what I had. I added a medley of veggies (broccoli, yellow and orange carrots, snow peas, zucchini and yellow squash). It came out amazing! I have to admit, I had never made risotto before and I will definitely be doing that again. so creamy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This was great - although next time I definitely won't use the added oil - the sausage was plenty greasy to cook the onions. Also didn't have arborio rice so used brown instead, knowing it wouldn't get to the creamy consistency of risotto, but that was ok. Still turned out to be a great meal (even with canned asparagus since I didn't have fresh)l.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Great recipe, I changed the veggies for those in season, but great starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States