Sausage and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Delish! I used the saute mode on my slow cooker and cooked the bacon and onion, then browning the kielbasa. I drained (but did not rinse) the sauerkraut to achieve the "tang" that we enjoy. I then mixed the bacon-onion mixture with the sauerkraut in a large bowl. I then layered the sauerkraut mixture, browned kielbasa, sauerkraut mixture, and the remaining kielbasas. I set the slow cooker on low for 5 hours--the best sauerkraut and kielbasa ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This recipe is delicious! I made it as directed only I used a third of a cup of brown sugar instead of a half. I was concerned about it being too sweet with using a red apple but was perfect served over homemade mashed potatoes! My family loved this I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I have to say a was a little leery about trying this recipe but I wanted some sauerkraut. I had to substitute a couple of things because I didn't have any bacon or apples. Since I didn't have any apples I used an 8 0z jar of homemade apple sauce and didn't add the brown sugar. I put a little oil in the frying pan and dumped in some bacon bit and sauteed the onion with them. This turned out really good and my husband even liked it. I will be making this again when I want to do something different with kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I followed the recipe as written with the exception of not draining the sauerkraut. I felt the bacon masked the subtler flavor of the sauerkraut and overpowered the whole dish. I love bacon but I was hoping for more tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
My go to recipe for Kraut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I got brave and made this recipe (for the first time) for a group we were having for New Year's Day. Everyone absolutely LOVED it - and I didn't make any changes!!! They think I'm an outstanding cook! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This is a great recipe. I made it exactly the first time and it was wonderful! The second time, I cut the brown sugar in half and it was still yummy! I also tried it with hot dogs instead of the kielbasa. It wasn't quite as flavorful, but still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made this recipe in the crockpot. Left out the bacon - just because I did not have time! - and added in some chunks of potatoes and apple juice. I thought it was good. My son and husband thought it was just ok. My daughter did not like it at all (even the sausage, which is unusual!). I would probably try it one more time to see if the reception is any better the next time (and likely will be if I add the bacon! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I made this as written, except for the caraway seeds, which I didn't have and don't really care for. This is the best Sauerkraut I've ever tasted. My hubby never like Sauerkraut til now. I shared some with a friend of mine and she couldn't stop raving about how wonderful it was. Thanks for such a YUMMY Recipe. I'll be adding it to my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I've made this a few times now and the whole family loves it--all three generations! I brown the sausage in a skillet not a grill but it works out the same. I added bacon fat to the sauerkraut last time and cooked this in the slow cooker. Awesome! Next time, I'm thinking about using some apple cider for more liquid in the cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States