Sausage and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great dish. I made the recipe as described, but cooked in it in the slow cooker, and added 1/2 cup apple juice so it wouldn't dry out. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Why do people like Dee say they made a recipe but the completely change all the main ingredients? Then they say it's not good. I made it and it's very good. I don't like caraway seed, so I left that out, but that was optional. Serving suggestions by the original poster are exactly right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
My rating is based on the actual recipe given. This is a classic, homestyle recipe with great flavors. The only thing I did differently after tasting the original is add a pinch of salt and pepper. Very nice recipe, thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
My family loves sauerkraut and they said this was the best recipe yet! I followed the recipe, except I used 2-2 lb bags (4 lb) of sauerkraut (I mentioned my family likes sauerkraut...). I did not double the remaining ingredients. I put the sauerkraut in my large crockpot, sauteed the bacon and onion and then added it with the sugar and apple. I did not use caraway. I browned some country ribs and placed them on top along with several smoked sausage (I like brats, but, only had the smoked sausage). I let it slow cook all day. I made mashed Yukon Gold potatoes to go along with the meal. The family raved about it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Great recipe! Our whole family enjoyed this dish. I would definitely recommend using the caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was so good. I made it in the slow cooker. Cooked and crumbled the bacon then just threw it all in with about a half cup of apple juice as another reviewer suggested. Turned out perfect served over mashed potatoes. Will make this one often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Fantastic recipe just as it is. Love it!!!!! This is the first time I have cooked kraut and it is to die for. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
My family was very happy to evaluate this meal today. There were a couple of variations made to it. He used 1 lb. Big Red Smokies instead of 1 1/2 lbs. kielbasa. The apple was a large Cameo. He used 1/3 cup of brown sugar and 1 tsp. of caraway seeds (we would not recommend you to omit it). He felt you should start the bacon about 3 minutes before adding the onions. The smell while this is cooking is out of this world!!! Delicious! Our son who won't eat kraut ate this dish. We all loved it and hope to serve it very soon again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Very good. Will make again but will add a little more sugar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I didn't use the apples and didn't have time to cook it as long as suggested. I simmered the sauerkraut for about 45 minutes and cooked it in the oven for about 45 minutes. My husband still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley
Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States