Sausage and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made this recipe in the crockpot. Left out the bacon - just because I did not have time! - and added in some chunks of potatoes and apple juice. I thought it was good. My son and husband thought it was just ok. My daughter did not like it at all (even the sausage, which is unusual!). I would probably try it one more time to see if the reception is any better the next time (and likely will be if I add the bacon! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I made this as written, except for the caraway seeds, which I didn't have and don't really care for. This is the best Sauerkraut I've ever tasted. My hubby never like Sauerkraut til now. I shared some with a friend of mine and she couldn't stop raving about how wonderful it was. Thanks for such a YUMMY Recipe. I'll be adding it to my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I've made this a few times now and the whole family loves it--all three generations! I brown the sausage in a skillet not a grill but it works out the same. I added bacon fat to the sauerkraut last time and cooked this in the slow cooker. Awesome! Next time, I'm thinking about using some apple cider for more liquid in the cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
The best! Because of the long slow prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Family of men loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dayna Haberle Delmonico

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Just like Gramma used to make. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrontierCook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This a fabulous recipe. Thanks for sharing. I cooked the bacon, cut it up, then sauteed the onion in the drippings. I added that with all the other ingredients, and put in the slow cooker. I didn't add apple juice as other readers suggested. This was an awesome dish. Part of family routine now. :D Husband is German too and said sauerkraut was much better than his mom used to make :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sabrina777

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I made this exactly according to recipe, cooking this in my cast iron skillet so it could go from stovetop to oven easily. I used Uncle Charley's sausage in this recipe and I served this with Meme's Mashed Potatoes. Not only did I love it but so did my husband and kids. Surprized the heck out of me, I thought for sure they'd hate it. NO leftovers and the boys asked me to make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Best sauerkraut and sausage I've ever had! I omitted caraway seed because I didn't have any on hand and I sliced the onions instead of chopping them. It was a tad on the greasy side so next time I will either take the time to pat the meat dry with paper towels or maybe just cut back on the amount of meat to give my wallet and my arteries a break. And for the love of all that is holy don't substitute Italian sausage for kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I used sweet and low, bacon bits, and omitted the apple because I didn't have one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States