Sausage and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This was my first time making the recipe and it was awesome. Only changes was half of sauerkraut (I only had a can), no seeds and turkey kielbasa. It was easy to follow and came out beautifully. Changes in the future would be to make double cause this was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This sauerkraut was the best. I did make some modifications. I skipped the caraway seeds because my partner doesn't like them. I also used turkey bacon and chicken-and-apple sausage because they were a little lower-sodium than the pork equivalents at my grocery store. Was really happy I did -- the apple in the sausage went really well with the salty-sweet flavor of the sauerkraut. I cooked the sauerkraut in the crock pot for two hours on high, then browned the bacon, onion, and sausage in a skillet before adding them to the kraut. I cooked for an additional hour or so on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YeahBuddy
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
New Years is today and I was looking for a good recipe. I left out the caraway seed but made it exactly as intended otherwise. I loved it and so did my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gigi
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I gave this a try, and I must say, I loved it! I used smoked spicey sausage as I don't eat kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made this and it was Awesome ! I will never make it another way . Da Bomb !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Remaklus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Made this recipe without any changes and I loved it. I've made sauerkraut and kielbasa many times but never like this. The two hours simmering over low heat is the key to making this a good meal into an excellent meal... Five stars! My recommendation.... don't change anything!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Jersey John
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was excellent! Served with the Authentic German Potato Salad recipe from here. Was a huge hit. Will do again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
My wife likes Bavarian-style sauerkraut, which has brown sugar added for sweetness. We used to be able to find it in a can but cannot anymore so I looked for a similar recipe and stumbled upon this. It turned out excellent. My only deviation was to add a bit of apple juice to the kraut because it was a bit dry to simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas2Step

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This is delicious. I made it just as the recipe suggested, only I halved it as I am only cooking for 2. It is an interesting combination of ingredients that come together to make a very yummy dish. This will be on our menu on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States