Sausage and Rice Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
This recipe kicks butt!!! Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Was very good. Used to much rice in my mixture, and also used colored peppers, recipe was very tasty. Next time I will not use 2 cups of regular rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I'm only giving it a 4 because the filling was good. Others say not to boil the peppers, but I think you should. If your only making for 2 people you can almost cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
this is a favorite for my husband and me, the kids just eat the filling...I made the following changes...I didn't boil the peppers, I used half sausage and half hamburger and one can of tomatoe soup than filled the empty can half full of bbq sauce, I didn't have instant rice so I just made regular rice and added it to the beef mixture after the simmering, also didn't use a pound of cheese just covered the top of the peppers with cheese at the very end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
These were very good, although I did change quite a few things. First, I took other reviewer's advise and didn't boil the peppers. I halved the recipe but used a whole tube of Jimmy Dean Hot Sausage (we like it hot). I simmered everything for an hour but then put brown rice straight into the mixture with some extra water and simmered for about fifteen minutes. Instead of leaving the peppers whole, I decided to cut them in half, which made them eaisier to stuff as well as eat. Then I baked them for 45 minutes. Seeings I have never attempted to cook Stuffed Peppers, I have got to say, they turned out real well thanks to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
great recipe. I made this for a gathering because there were some vegetarians coming. I used a italian flavoured tofu-ground beef substitute and it was phenomenal. I also used both red and green peppers for some color and variety. Would definatly do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
One of our favorites! Cut the sauce part in half, but still add the same amount of sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I used marinara sauce rather than tomato soup. I used some leftover brown rice instead of instant. Oh and I subbed the pork sausage with a homemade low-fat chicken sausage. Omitted cheese :( I got the calorie content down to about 200-much better than 800! post holiday dieting ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This recipe turned out really good. I didn't boil the peppers first, however. I stuffed them and baked them at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes. Rather than using sausage, I used ground beef. Couldn't have turned out any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
Recipe turned out great. I won't use minute rice so I used half a pound of ground beef half a pound of ground pork browned them and the chopped onion in a large frying pan with a lid. When that was finished browning I added 2 cups of raw long grain white rice and the rest of the ingredients brought it to a boil reduced heat to medium low and let it simmer for a half hour until the rice was cooked. Then I stuff the peppers raw, baked them for half an hour added the cheese on top stuck them back under the broiler until cheese bubbled. Only one pan to clean up and all the flavors blended well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States