Sausage and Rice Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
It was yummy. I added long grain brown rice to the meat/tomato sauce mixture an let it cook for 40 min, then stuffed the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This recipe is so great! I use turkey sausage to cut back on the fat/cals. I also like to use a reduced fat cheese. Turns out beautifully!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
My husband isn't a fan of stuffed peppers but he loved this recipe! My only problem was that I had a lot of rice mixture left over after I stuffed my peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This recipe is great...my family and inlaws raved about it. Just a warning....the prep is a lot of work and the dish is easy but again a lot of work...but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
nothing wrong with the filling. i've never boiled my peppers before and after reading the reviews i boiled them for 3 min and then blanched them. still turned out mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I looked at several recipes, but found this one best to my liking. Like others, I made a few changes, using hamburger instead of sausage, and regular long-grained white rice instead of instant, and no cheese on top. I added in diced tomatoes, as recommended by one reviewer, but found that it was a bit too tomato-y. My husband and son loved them, but I am still not completely satisfied that I've found the "stuffed peppers my mom used to make" yet. I had no problem with the peppers staying firm, and they were completely cooked and tender, but not at all mushy. I don't believe I left the peppers in the hot water as long as recommended. I had more filling than necessary, but ended up just putting it around the peppers in the baking dish, so nothing was wasted. I think this recipe lends itself well to customizing, and I'll make it again, still trying to get to figure out "how did Mom do it?"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Yummy! I read some of the other reviews and modified the original recipe. I did NOT boil the peppers at all, just used the raw halves - I used yellow and orange bell peppers. I used most of a jar of marinara spaghetti sauce instead of the tomato soup. I just used the leftover half of a large onion I had sitting around. Also, I added 2 cups of white rice with the liquid after browning the meat and onion, brought it to a boil, and simmered for half an hour, which worked fine (the rice was just a tiny bit on the crunchy side though, so maybe I should have let it sit a little longer). I simmered for half an hour, then stuffed the peppers. Also, I didn't add extra cheese on top of the peppers at the end; the stuffing was already so cheesy that I didn't think it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEIOUSEI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
NO short cuts here folks. This is a great recipe but you DO have to blanch the peppers. I read reviews who said the peppers split on them, and reviews where they omitted blanching because of it. The reason the peppers split on those folks is because they lost track of time and let them boil to long. The added bonus is if you then shock them in cold water, you can peel them. I attemted to omit the blanch step as well and the peppers were raw. I corrected the problem with alot of extra effort. I didn't want to bake x2 to soften the peppers in the oven. This is a great recipe if you pay attention to the peppers and the time, in the blanch process. NO SHORTCUTS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davebuoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
The best stuffed pepper ever! Changed a couple items due to what was in my fridge: Used chopped green onions instead of large onion. Used 1 can tomato paste and 1 can diced tomatoes instead of tomato soup. Texture of peppers was perfect, and tastes blended together wonderfully! Amazing dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alanfishmoore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
lots of the stuffing leftover which was fine by me. Great flavor by using tomato soup, but it took way to long to cook everything so if you dont have the time, I would suggest a different recipe. But did come out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crete, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States