Sausage and Rice Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I have tried about 5 different stuffed pepper recipes and I would have to say that this is the best ever!!! I was trying to duplicate a recipe from Fareway Grocery stores and this tops it!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clarinda, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
I made it tonight for my boyfriend and his mom. They both thought it was georgeous. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
These are yummy! I normally add more cheese than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Really good, but I did make a few changes. Red peppers were on sale, so that was a no brainer. Instead of cutting the tops off the peppers like I normally do, I sliced them in half lengthwise. Boiling the peppers isn't necessary, so I skipped that part and just added some water to the bottom of the pan before it was ready to be baked. I used tomato sauce in lieu of the soup, replaced the rice with couscous and then topped the peppers with shredded Pepper Jack cheese. The family really enjoyed the fact that the recipe called for sausage (although I used turkey sausage) instead of beef. Thanks Nancie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2003
Excellent recipe--great taste, but I believe that three cups COOKED instant rice was intended. My filling had alot of rice and not much of anything else. I will try the recipe again with the small change, and I will add a can of chopped tomatoes, drained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
The stuffing is really good. Makes an excellent buritto mix as well, just as add lectuce. I made the mix with the plan of six large peppers which I had, I ended using about 3/4 of it. For the peppers aspect, DO NOT BOIL the peppers unless you like them mushy and tasteless. To cut down on the cooking time add less water to the mix when you add the tomato soup, I would suggest cutting it down to half the recommended amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
everyone liked this one. I used 1/2 peppers-jack cheese and 1/2 chedder gave it just alittle bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Really yummy! I've never had stuffed peppers before, so this was a good one to try. I grilled my peppers instead of steaming them. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
The time to prepare this is definitely too long. I cut down the time by adding 1 cup of uncooked rice to the mixture after the soup, water, & cheese were added. I then covered and simered for 30 minutes. After the 30 minutes, the consistency was perfect for stuffing the peppers. I also added a 16 oz can of cut-up tomatoes to the bottom of the baking pan and placed the stuffed peppers on top, sprinkled the remaining cheese over all, and sprinkled croutons over everything. These changes cut the cooking time by an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
Great change of pace recipe. My kids are not the biggest Green Pepper fans but my wife & I are. Very easy to make & tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States