Sausage and Rice Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I get the impression this was from a guy who doesn't cook much, but wanted a recipe online with his name on it. The whole idea behind using instant rice is being able to cut way back on cooking times. So the simmering for an hour and a half isn't necessary. Using real uncooked rice, maybe, but with instant rice, cut about an hour and then some, off of this cooking time. With instant rice, you wouldn't really need to even cook it separately, because it would adequately cook if it was added to the other items cooking together. You would want to add about the same amount of water as you add rice. Also, I have never pre-cooked the peppers at all. The time in the oven cooks them just fine. Drop an hour plus cooking time, don't precook the peppers, and add the rice dry to the other ingredients that are simmering. You'll be done about 1 1/2 hours sooner. I also have to question the addition of the cheese to the simmering items. Why? Adding just enough shredded cheese to the top of each pepper would work just fine. Finally, I used one half of this recipe because it looked like way too much. It was. I was able to fill 5 large bell peppers and still had enough to let my dog try a dish of the stuffing. That makes me wonder if the "cook" even tried to make this or if he just took bits and pieces of other recipes to make this one up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Amazing! I used tomato sauce instead of soup and still came out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Grove, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
These were very tasty. I didn't add any chili powder because I did not have any but they were really good just the same. I used hot Italian sausage and it gave it the right kick. My family preferred these sausage stuffed peppers over the classic ground beef stuffed. I think I do too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This recipe is a WINNER! I used red and yellow bell peppers because that's what I had on hand. I DID NOT boil them first. I used regular, long-grain-rice to equal 3 cups, again, because it is what I had on hand. Even though I had enough tomato soup for the recipe, I chose to use up some leftover fire-roasted tomatoes that I had. I simply put those, un drained, into a measuring cup and made up the rest of the liquid with the tomato soup. The only ground sausage I had was Italian, so I used that. I did put in the chili powder, but I added in a TBSP of Italian seasoning and I used mozzarella cheese to compliment the Italian sausage. PLUS, it was what I had on hand and I had actually misread the recipe thinking Italian sausage was one of the ingredients needed. It turned out AMAZING! My husband loved it. I will DEFINITELY make it as written next time when I can have all of the items listed. I KNOW it will be another hit! I actually can't wait to make this one again! I don't like making a recipe that has been altered and then rating it. But I KNOW food; AND ingredients. This is a winner made as it is written for sure! Go ahead and make it, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was delicious! Even my daughter - who doesn't like rice or peppers - loved it. I was lazy and chopped up the peppers to turn it into a casserole. I also used half mild Italian sausage and half ground beef, but added a Tbsp of red pepper flakes. Finally, I used Parmesan and shredded smoked gouda, because they're my favorite cheeses. I'll be making this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I love this recipe but the prep takes far too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Fabulous recipe!!! I really enjoyed the use of the soup considering I've always used tomato sauce/paste in the past. I used a box of Trader Joe's Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup and it was very tasty. I also used ground beef (just a matter of personal preference), but I'm sure it would be equally as good if made with sausage or even a meatloaf mix trio of beef/veal/pork. I also used a variety of colorful bell peppers - green, red, orange, and yellow. I received compliments from everyone who tried the dish. I will definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Okay these peppers were awesome! Hats off to the poster of this recipe, because they have a winner! My whole family loved them and agreed to the 5 stars. They were very easy to make, but give yourself time to prep and cook. Some minor modifications to the recipe I made: -I used orange peppers; they are sweet and complement the flavors of sweet sausage well -I did not boil the peppers before hand, but after halving them and cleaning out the seeds, I microwaved all halves 4 minutes to dry and soften them. -6 cups of cooked rice is a lot, you only need 3 cups of cooked rice for the 6 peppers (use Carolina rice and if you need more servings make more rice) -I made the sausage mixture as is, but did not add the water, cutting the cooking time by 30 minutes -When the rice and sausage mixture are done cooking, combine them and stuff those peppers! -Put a shallow layer of water on the bottom of the pan before cooking as it will steam soften the peppers and cook at 350 for 55 minutes on the top rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Good recipe. Used mexican rice instead and it turned out great. Had extra left over because I only had 3 peppers but ate it the next day as a burrito and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meachamdinners

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This recipe is the perfect base when one wants to vary for their own family specialties. I don't pre-cook the peppers; prefer firm to soft. and for a bit more bite I add one cup of sauerkraut to the mix. As always cover with a nice sharp cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States