Sausage and Rice Stuffed Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This recipe is a WINNER! I used red and yellow bell peppers because that's what I had on hand. I DID NOT boil them first. I used regular, long-grain-rice to equal 3 cups, again, because it is what I had on hand. Even though I had enough tomato soup for the recipe, I chose to use up some leftover fire-roasted tomatoes that I had. I simply put those, un drained, into a measuring cup and made up the rest of the liquid with the tomato soup. The only ground sausage I had was Italian, so I used that. I did put in the chili powder, but I added in a TBSP of Italian seasoning and I used mozzarella cheese to compliment the Italian sausage. PLUS, it was what I had on hand and I had actually misread the recipe thinking Italian sausage was one of the ingredients needed. It turned out AMAZING! My husband loved it. I will DEFINITELY make it as written next time when I can have all of the items listed. I KNOW it will be another hit! I actually can't wait to make this one again! I don't like making a recipe that has been altered and then rating it. But I KNOW food; AND ingredients. This is a winner made as it is written for sure! Go ahead and make it, you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was delicious! Even my daughter - who doesn't like rice or peppers - loved it. I was lazy and chopped up the peppers to turn it into a casserole. I also used half mild Italian sausage and half ground beef, but added a Tbsp of red pepper flakes. Finally, I used Parmesan and shredded smoked gouda, because they're my favorite cheeses. I'll be making this again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I love this recipe but the prep takes far too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Fabulous recipe!!! I really enjoyed the use of the soup considering I've always used tomato sauce/paste in the past. I used a box of Trader Joe's Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup and it was very tasty. I also used ground beef (just a matter of personal preference), but I'm sure it would be equally as good if made with sausage or even a meatloaf mix trio of beef/veal/pork. I also used a variety of colorful bell peppers - green, red, orange, and yellow. I received compliments from everyone who tried the dish. I will definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Okay these peppers were awesome! Hats off to the poster of this recipe, because they have a winner! My whole family loved them and agreed to the 5 stars. They were very easy to make, but give yourself time to prep and cook. Some minor modifications to the recipe I made: -I used orange peppers; they are sweet and complement the flavors of sweet sausage well -I did not boil the peppers before hand, but after halving them and cleaning out the seeds, I microwaved all halves 4 minutes to dry and soften them. -6 cups of cooked rice is a lot, you only need 3 cups of cooked rice for the 6 peppers (use Carolina rice and if you need more servings make more rice) -I made the sausage mixture as is, but did not add the water, cutting the cooking time by 30 minutes -When the rice and sausage mixture are done cooking, combine them and stuff those peppers! -Put a shallow layer of water on the bottom of the pan before cooking as it will steam soften the peppers and cook at 350 for 55 minutes on the top rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Good recipe. Used mexican rice instead and it turned out great. Had extra left over because I only had 3 peppers but ate it the next day as a burrito and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meachamdinners

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This recipe is the perfect base when one wants to vary for their own family specialties. I don't pre-cook the peppers; prefer firm to soft. and for a bit more bite I add one cup of sauerkraut to the mix. As always cover with a nice sharp cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Wasn't bad, but was pretty bland. I would add some crushed tomato or something if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Well, made this tonight, great recipe. The family enjoyed even the picky eater. I did read some reviews, and did not par-boil the peppers. I did add fresh garlic and onions, salt and pepper. Made rice ahead of time but really did not need to. This recipe is now in monthly rotation. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I made this recipe and did my best to make it healthy. I made brown rice and substituted ground turkey. I also used parmigiana instead of the cheese. I had some left over sauce in the refrigerator which I added to a can of soup. No need to boil the peppers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimzy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Stuffed Peppers My Way

These roasted green bell peppers are stuffed with a savory feta and rice mixture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States