Sausage and Potato Breakfast Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Yum! This was a good breakfast with some fruit. I roasted the potatoes and pepper (I had red) the day before then cooked the sausage this morning. I diced regular potatoes and peppers, mixed with olive oil, parsley, and Montreal Steak Seasoning, and roasted at 350 for an hour, flipping once. Then I let cool and popped in the fridge, cooked the sausage and added minced onion to the skillet this morning, cooked until done, then added the potato and pepper mixture to the skillet until warmed. Worked out great, and I didn't need any margarine. I completely forgot about the cheese . . .it was good without it. I do think, however, that this dish is a bit heavy on the sausage, so I'd double the pepper and potato mixture next time but leave the sausage the same. Otherwise, I have no complaints. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Tried it this morning for a breakfast dish and was very pleased! Only thing I did different was I cooked the sausage, onion and green pepper the night before. In the morning put this mixture with the potatoes and baked in the oven 375 for about 25 minutes - adding cheese the last few minutes. Easier and very good too!! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Excellent! My husband loves this recipe. It's so easy to make and it's soo delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Everyone loved it at the brunch. I followed someone's suggestion and prepped the sausage, onion and pepper the night before. Then, the next morning I added the potatoes with canola oil instead of butter and baked them in the oven on 375 for about 35 min. Very easy and will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Delicious and easy. I took some suggesstions from reviews and cooked the sausage/green pepper/onion mix the night before. Boyfriend is allergic to onions so I used 1/4 C. minced dry onions in their place and this turned out great. Substituted real fried potatoes for the bag potatoes, fried them with a little Country Kitchen seasoning and then baked it all at 375 for 30 minutes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I cooked this breakfast in the iron skillet and, since I try to avoid the packaged stuff, I used real potatoes, not frozen; I also left the cheese out and used real butter instead of margarine. It was delicious, it reminded me of iron skillet breakfeast at Cracker Barrel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
OMG! So good! I will definitely make this again, even my picky eater loved it. I altered the recipe a bit - I used 1-1/2 cups precooked Jimmy Dean sausage crumbles, so the sausage cooking step was omitted, I simply added the sausage just before scrambling the eggs in to heat all the way through. I used half the amount of diced potatoes, half a bell pepper, half an onion, and added five beaten eggs after all the veggies were fully cooked. I cooked the eggs until scrambled. It yielded two hearty portions, with enough leftover to have 2 good sized breakfast burritos the next morning. And FYI, this makes a GREAT breakfast burrito filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I browned homemade breakfast sausage (from this site). Added the orange peppers and onions. Steamed some cubed red potatoes. Added pepper, colby/jack cheese blend and crushed red pepper flakes. Very tasty and very easy to prepare. There are many ways to vary this recipe to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Loved it....great Father's Day Brunch! I served it with a packet of Country Style Gravy, yum. Never did use the butter, used low fat sausage, nooked fresh potatoes (to hurry things up). I had a little red, orange, and yellow left over pepper.......very colorful skillet dish! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Easy way to have breakfast for dinner. I diced real potatoes in place of the frozen and baked it covered in the oven at 375 for about an hour. Came out all cheesy and delicious. My mom especially liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bookwormans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States