Sausage and Peppers Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
For the first time I made lasagna and this recipe was absolutely delicious!I added some other ingredients,I added some chorizo and mushrooms which made it even better. I loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Mainly I want to review the cream cheese mixture because that's what I was going for when I chose this recipe. I had never used cream cheese in lasagna but I'm a total cream cheese nut and didn't want to put in the effort to make the more traditional bechamel sauce. The cream cheese tasted alright, although it made the lasagna seem less "Italian" tasting than using bechamel or ricotta. My main problem with it is that cream cheese gets very liquidy when it melts and it was just too wet in the end. I used the no-cook noodles so they should have soaked up a lot of that liquid but there was still too much for me. Als far as the rest of the recipe goes, 1/2 pound of sausage is definitely not enough for a 9x13 pan of lasagna, IMHO, so I doubled the sausage and it seemed odd to put the meat layer on the bottom, without any noodles under it to hold it together when you cut it up and serve it, so I didn't follow that part. I layered it in my usual fashion. All in all it's not a bad recipe abut I don't think I will do the cream cheese again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Vermont, USA
Living In: Mansfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
great recipe!! I have to make a double pan of it everytime. thank You Philadelphia cream cheese, i'm looking forward to trying more of your recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarnellnYvette Christian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly but found that it really needed more sauce. It seemed a bit bland. Perhaps it would be better with more sauce. We did like the sausage instead of hamburger I usually put in my lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOWEWASS
Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This recipe is perfect. Absolutely delicious. Only change I made was I use a food processor for the onion and peppers so my kids don't notice it and try to pick it out. I have made this for large groups (doubled recipe) and has been a hit. I personally find this to be the best lasagna recipe I have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I've made this several times now, following the recipe exactly and then making changes based on what I had in my kitchen. It's always good. I like to use 1/2 cream cheese and 1/2 Neufchatel cheese to reduce the fat a bit, and it still tastes amazing. I brought it to a friends house and she demanded the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamenstrong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
our new favorite lasanga recipe!! Very flavorful, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I made this last night and the prep time was closer to 45 minutes to an hour. I cut the Italian sausage in about one half inch square pieces and it seemed a little too big but okay. My husband loved it but it was a little too rich and cheesy for me. Overall it was good but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I made this lasagna last night, but did half the recipe. Both my husband and I felt it was too thick/rick for lasagna...maybe doing half cream cheese and half ricotta would work better for our tastes. We both picked it apart to scrape off a bit of cream cheese, and then ate it. I added extra seasoning too, as others recommended. Might just try adding some cream cheese to another lasagna recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Very tasty! I also make a homemade spag sauce from this site to make it a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Corn Soufflé

See how to make a light and cheesy corn soufflé.

Spicy Jalapeno and Bacon Flatbread

Tasty flatbread is topped with bacon, veggies, and melty cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States