Sausage and Peppers for a Dozen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I have made this once and will defiantly make it again. The only thing I will do different is leave the sausage whole instead of cutting it and I added a bit of red wine to the sauce. So delicious and super easy!! Great for a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
we LOVE this recipe! We use the Chunky Marinara recipe and the French bread Rolls to Die For from this site. It is a super crowd pleaser at my house. Friday nights are even happier with this recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I used homemade sauce and sausages. Once the sausages browned I put everything into the crockpot and let it simmer all day. I served on my own crusty rolls recipe. Once I placed the sausage and peppers on the roll I put a slice of Provolone cheese on top and one on the plain side of the roll. I broiled until the cheese was brown and bubbly, put the sandwich together and enjoyed! I used red and green peppers and an equal amount of onions. I had mushrooms that needed using up and put them in there too. Will try adding zucchini next time. Great recipe you can play around with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was great. I use all hot sausage because I prefer it over sweet. I used just the sausage and peppers part since I was serving over pasta. I did everything except I only added peppers and onions for last 25 minutes of cooking and they were perfect (soft but still had a tiny crunch). If the veggies had been in there for the entire 45 minutes they would have been completely soft and flimsy and I don't like them that overcooked. Turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
These sandwiches were soooo good! I cut the recipe in half since it was just my husband and. I also made a very easy marinara sauce from this site instead of jarred sauce. It is called 'Chunky Marinara Sauce'. It went along perfectly with this recipe! I will make this again for sure :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars WITH some modifications. No need to slice the sausage, save time and leave it whole. I did flip half way thru so it would get brown on both sides. I also drained and blotted up all the grease. I skipped the sauce and added pepper, garlic salt and onion powder. Next time I will add the veggies a little later. They became too soft and melted down to almost nothing. Overall a biG time saver when feeding a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Quick and easy for a weeknight meal! I cut the recipe in half and grilled the sausage instead. I pan fried the onions and peppers in a littled olive oil and some Italian herbs along with a splash of wine. I did cheat and used a jar of Classico Marinara sauce (sorry Prego) that I doctored up a bit. We served this with some Parmesan and Romano cheeses, nice Italian bread and of course wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Loved this. Added more onion and three different colored peppers. I also used whatever spaghetti sauce I had on hand. Serve it on spaghetti or buns. It's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
yum yum yummmm.... BUT I HAD to cheat the recipe. My husband wanted me to make a sausage sammy for him, but he bought only already cooked spicy chicken sausage... STILL, with already prepared sausage and 1/2 the cooking time, it was delicious. Very little ingredients made for a fabulous sammy. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph84106

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this to bring to my sister's house for Christmas eve - she was having lasagna and it seemed like a good side dish. Everyone thought it was delicious!! I made it again a couple of days later with hot Italian sausage instead of sweet. It was equally good, and a matter of personal preference as to using either type of sausage. I reduced the oven temp to 400 degrees - my oven tends to run hot, and I like the peppers a little on the firm side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States