Sausage and Peppers for a Dozen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I have made this once and will defiantly make it again. The only thing I will do different is leave the sausage whole instead of cutting it and I added a bit of red wine to the sauce. So delicious and super easy!! Great for a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
we LOVE this recipe! We use the Chunky Marinara recipe and the French bread Rolls to Die For from this site. It is a super crowd pleaser at my house. Friday nights are even happier with this recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I used homemade sauce and sausages. Once the sausages browned I put everything into the crockpot and let it simmer all day. I served on my own crusty rolls recipe. Once I placed the sausage and peppers on the roll I put a slice of Provolone cheese on top and one on the plain side of the roll. I broiled until the cheese was brown and bubbly, put the sandwich together and enjoyed! I used red and green peppers and an equal amount of onions. I had mushrooms that needed using up and put them in there too. Will try adding zucchini next time. Great recipe you can play around with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was great. I use all hot sausage because I prefer it over sweet. I used just the sausage and peppers part since I was serving over pasta. I did everything except I only added peppers and onions for last 25 minutes of cooking and they were perfect (soft but still had a tiny crunch). If the veggies had been in there for the entire 45 minutes they would have been completely soft and flimsy and I don't like them that overcooked. Turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
These sandwiches were soooo good! I cut the recipe in half since it was just my husband and. I also made a very easy marinara sauce from this site instead of jarred sauce. It is called 'Chunky Marinara Sauce'. It went along perfectly with this recipe! I will make this again for sure :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandica8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I'm giving this 5 stars WITH some modifications. No need to slice the sausage, save time and leave it whole. I did flip half way thru so it would get brown on both sides. I also drained and blotted up all the grease. I skipped the sauce and added pepper, garlic salt and onion powder. Next time I will add the veggies a little later. They became too soft and melted down to almost nothing. Overall a biG time saver when feeding a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Quick and easy for a weeknight meal! I cut the recipe in half and grilled the sausage instead. I pan fried the onions and peppers in a littled olive oil and some Italian herbs along with a splash of wine. I did cheat and used a jar of Classico Marinara sauce (sorry Prego) that I doctored up a bit. We served this with some Parmesan and Romano cheeses, nice Italian bread and of course wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Loved this. Added more onion and three different colored peppers. I also used whatever spaghetti sauce I had on hand. Serve it on spaghetti or buns. It's very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
yum yum yummmm.... BUT I HAD to cheat the recipe. My husband wanted me to make a sausage sammy for him, but he bought only already cooked spicy chicken sausage... STILL, with already prepared sausage and 1/2 the cooking time, it was delicious. Very little ingredients made for a fabulous sammy. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph84106

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this to bring to my sister's house for Christmas eve - she was having lasagna and it seemed like a good side dish. Everyone thought it was delicious!! I made it again a couple of days later with hot Italian sausage instead of sweet. It was equally good, and a matter of personal preference as to using either type of sausage. I reduced the oven temp to 400 degrees - my oven tends to run hot, and I like the peppers a little on the firm side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States