Sausage and Parmesan Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was a risk because I usually like to find recipes that are highly rated before taking the time to make. However my boyfriend came across this one and suggested I make it so I went out on a limb! and BOY they were great!!!! I used Jimmy Dean 1/2 fat sausage as well as fresh grated parmesan (I wouldn't suggest anyone use anything but fresh) and they turned out fantastic. Using 1/2 fat sausage obviously to cut back on some fat, but I think full fat would have had WAY too much grease. Give these a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
These are great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
fantastic! I added almost double the cheese to each log before rolling them up though. They lasted about 10 minutes on Easter Sunday! I will definitely be making these again. They would also be amazing as a breakfast add on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinac1986

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
These were great. I made these along with Christmas brunch for guests and they were a hit. I used fresh parmesan for half of the puffs and fresh sharp cheddar for the other half. We liked the cheddar cheese better. I also used a broiling pan for baking them because I did not have a paper bag to line the bottom and that worked fine too. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blacklick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
My husband loved these. I think they would have been better with a spicier sausage, but that's just the kind of sausage I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
These were a big hit at the office and at home. I used regular grated parmesan. It might be cheesier if it was fresh, but since the recipe did not specify I took the cheapo route. I also used cheap, mild, full-fat breakfast sausage. I baked the puffs on parchment paper, and when I took them out of the oven I tilted the tray slightly to let the grease run out of the sausage. Then, I lifted the puffs as quickly as possible onto paper towels to allow them to drain a bit (without sitting in a pool of their own grease), transferring them to a paper towel-lined tray. Not sure if the parchment paper was better than brown bags, but it worked--no one thought the pastries were overly greasy. I thought they were even better cold next-day. These were such a hit that I have been requested to make them on game days throughout the football season. Five stars for flavor (does anyone NOT like puff pastry?) and ease. Oh, don't forget your egg wash, they look so much prettier when they are shiny and the seams hold together much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
These were terrific. I made them for a party and several people asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
These taste great! But they are a pain in the neck to make. 5 stars for taste, but I'll be saving the recipe for holidays, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakingdom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
this was great! finally an appetizer my husband doesn't call "fru fru"! i suggest wiping the knife after each cut as any sausage bits clinging to the outside blacken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic and Parmesan Chicken Wings

See how to make garlicky, crispy chicken wings.

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States