Sausage and Mushroom Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Used this ingredient list to make a witch's hat shaped calzone with pepperoni. Yum! My husband doesn't like tomatoes so this was great! Best of both worlds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I love this filling, it is full of flavor. I use Rhodes frozen bread dough, it is easy to roll out and tastes so close to homemade. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
These calzones were SOOO good. I used awesome-tasting Jennie-O hot Italian turkey sausage for a leaner calzone, and sautéed fresh white mushrooms in olive oil with freshly minced garlic and Italian seasoning (instead of jarred mushrooms). I also used Rhode's frozen bread dough like the previous rater suggested (delicious). Toward the end of the baking time, I brushed the tops of the zones with olive oil and parmesan cheese. I baked them a little longer, until they were golden brown. My fiancé LOVED them and the way our apartment smelled while they were baking :). He bragged about them at work the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluv2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Simple and easy to make! I used turkey sausage, skim mozzarella, mushrooms and diced tomatoes w/ garlic & onion as the filling and Pillsbury pizza dough as the crust. They turned out great and were a big hit with my family! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LukesMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Robesonia, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Excellent recipe! Tastes great!! I made them with my boyfriend and we added more pizza toppings and veggies. Whatever you put on a pizza you can put in this calzone and it will be amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I made these on Sunday when I make my other meals for the week. It was a little difficult to roll out the dough but that could just be me:) I froze them (pre-baked) and we ate them on Weds. They were fantastic! I only wish I could find frozen wheat dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Added some chopped green pepper to this and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
OMG, these were amazing! I didn't have any pizza sauce on hand so I had to make up my own using some fresh herbs and tomato sauce and paste. Yum! Even my picky 3 yr old ate his up and wanted seconds! I think this is a great base recipe, bc you can always sub pepperoni instead of the sausage and use other veggy's if you don't like mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
These were a great and quick meal. I let my dough thaw overnight. Then, as I prepared my sides, I let it rise. I also added sauteed peppers, garlic and onions, and pepperoni. I served the pizza sauce on the side for dipping. It was Wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This turned out fantastic! My husband and my two boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage Pasta

A simple and quick weeknight pasta with sausage, tomatoes, and spinach.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Chef John's Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States