Sausage and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
perfect comfort food on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was so delicious, but instead of water I used Beef Broth. I also added a 1/2 an onion, two cloves of garlic, a couple of dashes of parsley flakes and a dash of oregano and garlic salt. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was delicious and easy to make! I added some potatoes to the lentils. I sauteed the onions and garlic before adding to bring out the flavor. I also cooked the sausages before adding for the last 15 minutes. I used vegetable stock and extra chili powder. Top it off with a dollop of sour cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicante03
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Super easy and yummy. I added chicken bouillon cubes to the dish and it came out too salty. Next time I will use low sodium prepared chicken stock instead of water. This dish doesn't look appetizing but tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I also tinkered with the recipe to produce more flavor. This recipe is a great base for adding extras. I minced 3 garlic cloves and sautéed them with the onions while the lentils were cooking. I then added a can of diced tomatoes, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and sliced smoked sausage along with the cumin, salt and pepper. For additional bulk, nutrition and taste, I also added a cup or so of cooked, shelled edamame. To brighten everything, I squeezed 1/2 a lemon into the pot at the end. So delicious, all 3 of our kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traceydd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Niceville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I think as written the recipe is a little bland for most tastes. We added extra salt and some cayenne pepper seasoning to give it a flavor and it was pretty good. Thanks very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I have never eaten a lentil... followed this almost completely as written. used turkey smoked sausage.. AWESOME.. I did like others suggested add shredded carrots..and more onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This is a great quick and cheap meal! Definitely use chicken broth instead of water for better flavor. I only had ground Italian sausage so I browned it up separately first. I added some kale along with the sausage, which works really well. I also didn't have any cumin, so I added red pepper flakes, garlic powder, oregano, and a bit of basil with the salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Very quick & delicious. I added a bunch of garlic, 2 cubes beef bouillon, a few veggies, and some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States