Sausage and Lentils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I'm rating this 5 stars so others will try it with cumin! I totally doctored it up, and yes-then the 5-star rating doesn't really reflect the recipe as written; however, I think we loved what I did BECAUSE of the cumin (which I never would have thought to add). Having 5 kids, I doubled the recipe for our needs and then tweaked as follows: instead of all the water, I substituted 1qt chicken broth + 1 c water, then added 15 oz can diced tomatoes, 1 generous cup each of chopped carrots & celery, and a 10 oz jar of tomato pesto that I bought at Aldi's. I sauted the onion/carrot/celery in olive oil, then dumped everything else in. It was a bit on the soupy side, so next time I think I'll omit the 1 c water. We served the sausage on the side instead of in the lentils. Everyone ate it -from adults to oldest teen to youngest toddler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I love this easy, simple but delicious recipe, but with a few substitutions. I first saute the onion, and I use a whole onion, sauteed in a little bit of olive oil. My boys prefer a Turkey Italian Sausage that I remove from the casing and precook with the onions once they have softened and turned opaque. Trader Joes carries precooked lentils. Perfect for this working mom! Depending on what I have open, I either simmer with white wine or chicken broth. The cumin is bonus flavor for me. I enjoy it, but I know that some people don't. This dish is still tasty without it if you have picky eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tiffknu
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
As is, this recipe is quite bland. I didn't use chicken or beef stock. Instead I used about 4 cups of water, half an onion - diced & sautéed, a few cloves of diced garlic, two cooked slices of bacon, and a ton of cumin, curry powder, old bay, salt, & pepper. I let the lentils boil, then simmer for about 20 minutes.... all in all, it came out well but how far off does the recipe used have to differ from the original recipe for it to be a whole new recipe ? lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary Sandberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
You either like lintels or you don't. There is no grey really. I needed a recipe for the polish sausage that I had out. I also needed to feed a family of five. I did not feel like fussing much with cooking so I wanted something quick and easy. This recipe is quick and easy. I doubled the recipe, and made it as written. After tasting at near completion of cooking time, I also added 1 tablespoon of Old Bay Seasoning. That gave this recipe the little added boost it needed. For me without adding the Old Bay Seasoning, it was rather bland. My family ate the meal and they too thought it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I used chicken broth in place of water, and added 2 thinly sliced carrots while the lentils and onions were cooking. I used 14oz of Andoullie sausage instead of Polish and added a can of diced tomatoes, undrained. I also added about 3/4-1tsp of garlic salt and 3/4-1tsp gram masala and then 1/2-3/4 tsp of curry powder to the seasonings. Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This recipe was very good. I used chunked up spiral ham that I had left over from a previous dinner. Be careful when adding your salt, it can keep your lentils from softening. I would recommend adding the other spices when it says to and add the salt about 5 minutes before you take it off the stove. Also my lentils took a good bit longer than it says to cook and soften, closer to an hour. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RSharpe701

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timberville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dayton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
perfect comfort food on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This was so delicious, but instead of water I used Beef Broth. I also added a 1/2 an onion, two cloves of garlic, a couple of dashes of parsley flakes and a dash of oregano and garlic salt. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This was delicious and easy to make! I added some potatoes to the lentils. I sauteed the onions and garlic before adding to bring out the flavor. I also cooked the sausages before adding for the last 15 minutes. I used vegetable stock and extra chili powder. Top it off with a dollop of sour cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicante03

Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States