Sausage and Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
This was terrific—I had everything on hand and made it exactly as posted. We served it with garlic bread and all five of us loved it. To make it a bit more hearty in colder weather, I think I'd consider thickening the broth with corn starch or adding [asta for a more substantial meal. But I'll make this again just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Cooks in St. Pete

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I did make a couple of minor changes to make this healthier. I used Italian turkey sausage to cut down on the fat and low sodium chicken broth to cut down on the sodium. Other than that, the only difference was to add more garlic because we always add more garlic to everything. I did use spinach instead of kale because that's what I had in the house. The garlic is really the only thing that would affect the flavor at all, so I feel comfortable giving this recipe 5 stars. It really was delicious and other than the prep work (which is typical for most recipes, was easy to put together. I used my pressure cooker, but it really isn't necessary if you don't have one. I love making homemade soup during the cold winter months. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Wharton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Have made this soup several times and its always a hit! We definitely prefer hot sausage, but have used sweet sausage with some added spices. The only thing I do different is remove the sausage from their casing and cook that way. I find it goes a little farther that way and is in better size portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daniellerosebud
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This soup was delicious. I am on the dukan diet and it complies with the rules on protein vegetable days. To make it work with the diet I used Italian chicken sausage and nonfat reduced sodium broth.. Everything else was the same and it still tasted great even without the mushrooms because I didn't have any
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QueeNia17
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I liked this very much! So did my 12 & 2 y.o. Children! Only adjustments I made was: Tofurkey Sausage (because we are vegetarians); more garlic (because we love garlic); more kale and I topped mine with powdered chili pepper and cheese after I served in my bowl! Soooo good... Going for second now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueeNia17

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Didn't have mushrooms. Added a can of chunky tomatoes, Thought it was bland. Probably better with spicier sausage. Most soups need more cooking time. That might also help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I used sundries tomato and kale sausage and used a little more of each vegetable than what it called for. This soup is really salty with no added salt, but still very flavorful and filling! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I did a recipe search with ingredients I had on hand and this soup turned up. I had chicken spinach asiago sausage, (a bit spicy), and it worked wonderfully! I was only missing the cauliflower so substituted red skin potatoes. My family really enjoyed it, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Made without the mushrooms and it was wonderful - even my 6 year old ate it. Used spicy sausage as suggested. Once I cooked it on the stovetop I needed 2 hours before serving, so I put it on low in the slow cooker. Vegetables were still nicely crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
OMG, delicious! Great method! I used half a Spanish chorizo, casing removed and diced, and two chicken mango sausages (what I had on hand). After the onion, carrot and garlic were cooked, I added a 10 oz bag of TJ's Organic Tuscan kale (remove spines first) and sauteed for a minute or two. Then only a quart of fat free chicken broth and added a can of Great Northern beans (not drained) and about 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes along with the oregano. Brought to a boil, then simmered about one hour. Yum! I omitted the bay leaf, cauliflower and mushrooms. It did not need them, but I might try next time. There will definitely be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States