Sausage and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I was asked to make a brunch featuring this casserole because my friends love this dish. However, to help with calories, I use pre-cooked turkey sausage. I also enjoy adding sautéed crimini mushrooms. The absolute best part of this casserole is making it the night before and baking it in the morning so the entire house smells delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Great recipe for a crowd. I had 18 people staying over for Thanksgiving, and knew I would not want to be making breakfast on Thanksgiving morning while trying to get dinner ready. I doubled the recipe, put everything together the night before, baked the pans in the morning and had a tasty hot breakfast for everyone. I used what I had on hand, which were Hawaiian sweet rolls instead of bread slices, and regular yellow mustard. My grocery store only had sage sausage, but it was super yummy and a nice complement to the recipe. You could also change this recipe up a lot depending on you and your family's preferences. Excellent as is or as a base for your creative breakfast ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This was really good. I also cheated and baked it as soon as I assembled it. I will probably let it sit over night next time, as it did turn out a little soggy in the middle even though I baked it for about an hour.I just microwaved those pieces... lol. It was still good though. I used lean sausage links, fried and cut into pieces. I also did not have any bread, so I used 3 whole wheat bagels cut into cubes. I will definitely use the bagels again next time I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Added half of a green pepper and a small yellow onion. Was delicious, made it the night before and cooked it in the morning. Would add more salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I've made this recipe twice, once without the cheese (had it sitting on the counter and just forgot to put it in). Interestingly, I didn't miss the cheese much in the second version, so for a lower fat option, you could leave the cheese out. One thing I did both times was whip the eggs and milk with a whisk which made it so light and fluffy. I also made it the morning of instead of the night before and it was fine, so don't shy away from making it if you don't have time to let it sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
It was easy and delicious. I even cheated - I made it in the morning so it didn't get the night of soaking. We still enjoyed it and cooked up great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Pretty good breakfast casserole. Didn't change much, just used maple sausage and sourdough bread. Maybe next time I'll add some sauteed spinach and mushrooms, or some other veggies. I also halved the recipe (there's only the two of us), and baked in a glass 8x8 dish, and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Very easy, make ahead and tasty too! This is one of those recipes where you can customize it to suit your taste - add onions or other meats & veggies if you want. I made this for Faceless Frenzy July 2012. Thanks for a good recipe to eat and photograph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Wonderful basic recipe, I increased it to serve 12, added green onion, green and red peppers chopped, and some chopped tomato for color and extra taste---got all rave remarks. Would be good with any meat or veggie additions. It baked in the time alloted, and I added 15 minutes "rest time" before slicing into servings. LOOKED as good as it tasted, another star:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Great recipe! I've used this one for years. We messed up one year and bought maple sausage instead of plain and have been using maple since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warrensburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States