Sausage and Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Just amazing! It made the Thanksgiving meal. I used sweet sausage instead of spicy because we are a delicate group! But it was the best dressing I have ever had, and handed out many copies of the recipe. There were no left-overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
My family LOVES this dressing. They want it even when it is not a holiday. Freezes well before baked, so make it up ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was the most outstanding accompanimemnt to our Thanksgiving turkey. We opted for a sweet Italian turkey sausage, and used a poultry seasoning instead of purchasing all the individual spices. This is far more flavorful than any plain bread stuffing I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I used this recipe for Thanksgiving but I did not put the apples, I did however add chopped hard boiled eggs and some bellpepper. I also used the stock from the turkey for the finishing flavor. THE BEST DRESSING EVER, Better than my own Grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
EXCELLENT RECIPE AS STATED. THE ONLY THING I DID DIFFRENT WAS TO BAKE THE CORN BREAD MIX IN A 9X13 BAKING DISH THEN SLICED IT INTO 1 INCH CUBES AND FLUFFED WITH A FORK AFTER IT COOLED. I THINK IT GAVE THE DISH A BETTER VISUAL EFFECT RATHER THEN CRUMBLING THE CORN BREAD INTO A BOWL AS THE RECIPE STATES. WILL DEFINATELY MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Great recipe!!! I used turkey sausage, added a box of stuffing, cream of mushroom, cream of celery, and quadrupled the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Everyone loved this dressing! I made a few changes of my own,of course. I used Jimmy Dean Maple sausage instead of hot sausage and it was excellent with the apples. I mixed 2 batches at one time, and it seemed a little too dry ,so I added 1 cup of apple cider. The cider made the dressing. Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I made this recipe at Thanksgiving. I was very worried about changing our standard dressing we have every year, but my family loved it. The best judge was my son who is the pickiest eater in the world and he kept talking about how much he loved the dressing. I didn't change any part of the recipe. This is my every Thanksgiving dressing now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Tyson Rice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
FABULOUS!!! I made it for the first time for Thanksgiving and my family LOVED it!! Hubby has requested we stick to this recipe! I used sweet italian bulk sausage, because that's what I had on hand and I wasn't tryin to make a trip to the store the day before Thanksgiving!! LOL I used poultry seasonings instead of individual spices (again, thats what I had on hand) which worked LOVELY! I didn't measure, I just dumped some in! I also used some of the turkey drippings instead of chicken broth and I omitted the butter (out of sheer forgetfulness) I will experiment with adding an egg and more broth next time because it was a bit dry for my taste. DEFINITELY a 'keeper recipe' Thanks!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is a very delicious dressing! I've made it twice now and my husband has loved it each time. When I made it for thanksgiving I added some ground turkey to give extra meat and I used maple flavored pork sausage to add to the sweetness. Everyone loved it at Thanksgiving and I find myself craving it often. Really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States