Sausage and Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Very good, very similar to my great aunt's recipe! I baked Bob's Red Mill gluten free corn bread, let cool and then cut into 1/2" pieces and crumbled a bit. To make this like my aunt's stuffing, I did make the following changes: 1) 1 onion, 2) added a cup of pre-made wild rice, 3) added one beaten egg to the liquid mixture, 4) used mild itallian sauage. My aunt usually chops a can or two of mushrooms and adds this to the saute mix. Also, her base is Stove Top Stuffing (traditional) made as directed on the box. She does added extra sage and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner. It was the star of the meal!! Made exactly as stated but halfed the recipe and couple minor adjustments. Omitted the oil since sausage had plenty once cooked, added 1 beaten egg, added full amount of broth 3/4 c. for half recipe. Came out wonderful with the spiciness of the sausage and the sweetness of the cornbread and apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Great recipe!!! I used turkey sausage, added a box of stuffing, cream of mushroom, cream of celery, and quadrupled the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I found the original recipe to be a bit sweet, so the next time I made it, I decreased the apples to 1 apple and increased the sausage to 2 lbs of sausage. This did the trick. The dressing was the perfect combination of sweet, spicy and meaty. My in-laws were raving about the dish during last year's Thanksgiving and it was also approved my my critical mother during the following Christmas dinner where I used it as the stuffing for my Cornish Hens. I will definite use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is a very delicious dressing! I've made it twice now and my husband has loved it each time. When I made it for thanksgiving I added some ground turkey to give extra meat and I used maple flavored pork sausage to add to the sweetness. Everyone loved it at Thanksgiving and I find myself craving it often. Really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Wonderful. My dad requested cornbread dressing. This was much better than any my grandmother ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
For Thanksgiving this year I wanted to try something different, but was hesitant to change an already good thing. This recipe was perfect! It had the flavor of our family recipe but had just the right amount of change to keep things interesting. It came out great and EVERYONE wanted the recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonoko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Everyone loved this dressing! I made a few changes of my own,of course. I used Jimmy Dean Maple sausage instead of hot sausage and it was excellent with the apples. I mixed 2 batches at one time, and it seemed a little too dry ,so I added 1 cup of apple cider. The cider made the dressing. Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I made this recipe at Thanksgiving. I was very worried about changing our standard dressing we have every year, but my family loved it. The best judge was my son who is the pickiest eater in the world and he kept talking about how much he loved the dressing. I didn't change any part of the recipe. This is my every Thanksgiving dressing now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Tyson Rice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
My family LOVES this dressing. They want it even when it is not a holiday. Freezes well before baked, so make it up ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States