Sausage and Broccoli Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Having said that, I used pork/venison sausage instead of the sweet Italian it called for and I wish I hadn't. I think this dish needs the sweetness to offset the saltyness of the rest of the ingredients. I couldn't find Cream of Brocoli and settled for Cream of Brocoli and Cheese. I used a package of Wacky Mac instead of the spirals to bring more color to the dish. I did add a bit more milk (about 1/2 c.) because my broccoli (which was fresh, not frozen) just didn't have enough liquid to cook. Overall it wasn't that bad but I won't be making it again. Why? My 3 year old daughter only ate the sausage and the oldest, a 5 yr. old, tried it and wouldn't touch anymore (she's usually a good eater). My 1 year old ate the macaroni okay but it wasn't the ideal dish for a youngster with few teeth. It's worth trying if you have nothing else to cook and have the ingredients on hand. Maybe it was just a personal preference and your family will like it. But I won't be making it again. Always like to try new recipes, though, so thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This was okay. I have to say though that I didn't have cream of broccoli on hand so I used cream of chicken. I wasn't a big fan of the sweet flavor that the broccoli/onion combo had with the sausage. On my own plate I added a sprinkle of lime juice and really liked the extra zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Welllll......I used hot bulk sausage instead of sweet. Didn't have any cream of brocolli so I used Cream of Onion. Used Cheddar instead of Parmesan and I don't normally use a measure cup so I used 1/2 soup can of milk. Oh..and Penne instead of corkscrews....my family loved it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Not bad. I made a double batch. I used cream of celery and brocolli cheese soup with one cup milk. Lots of pepper. Hubby didn't complain as he ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
soooo good! family loved it! i used whole wheat pasta,low fat soup, and sweet italian chicken sausage instead to cut down on the calories! and it was yummy! i am going to try it with peas next! thanks for this one! its sure to be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyme, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Montpelier, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Wasen't my favorite meal, tasted a little bland. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Both my husband and I loved it. We used Jimmy Dean hot ground sausage instead of the sweet sausage. Because we used the hot sausage, we didn't use any of the crushed red pepper. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe. We used mild italian sausage instead of the sweet sausage the recipe calls for. Even with that it definitley needed the crushed red pepper for more zip. We really loved the leftovers the next day as well. This was very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I doubled the broccoli, and it could've used a little more sausage, but I may have used more pasta than was called for. Everybody loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Made this tonight and the whole family loved it. A few differences I tried just because it was what I had on hand: Used half ground beef and half sausage, and also used fresh broccoli instead of frozen. About 1/4 tsp garlic powder instead of fresh. It was really yummy, even my sons liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States