Sausage and Bean Ragout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This was easy and delicious. I used ~1.25 pounds of both sausage and beef. I used two cans of navy beans instead of kidney beans. I used about 6 cloves of garlic. I used two bay leaves. I used a 28oz. can of mild Rotel instead of diced tomatoes. I added an extra 1/4 cup of broth. I used ~2 cups of cooked spiral pasta-cooked it separate and slightly underdone. Was taking to a potluck, so I brought all ingredients to a boil as directed and then dumped into a crock-pot overnight for ~6-7 hours on low. I then added ~7oz. of slightly chopped "young" spinach, slightly underdone pasta and ~1/2 cup of freshly grated Romano cheese. I transported to my venue and plugged in on warm for another 2 hours. Served with more Romano. There was plenty of flavor/kick, the beans weren't too mushy, and the pasta was just right. The best part is that everyone loved it and went back for more (including me!)-no leftovers. The key on the pasta is cooking it separate and adding it a little before serving. If you had no flavor, I suggest buying a better quality hot sausage and maybe a different kind of diced tomatoes. If you have a food processor, keeping fresh grated Romano/Parmesan is easy - grate an entire block and freeze - it can be used on most anything directly out of the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
It was good. A bit salty but that could be remedied by the canned products you choose to use. It is a quick, simple meal to put together after a long day of work. thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Basseterre, Saint George Basseterre, Saint Kitts And Nevis
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
GREAT! I used 1 pnd sausage and no ground beef. That was enough meat. I don't think it needs the cheese and I will probably use chicken sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
A good, hearty soup. This recipe makes quite a bit, and the pasta and beans in the soup, once frozen, get pretty mushy when reheated. Still a regular on our menu though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Delicious! The hot italian sausage adds the perfect amount of spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is the ABSOLUTE BEST soup ever. It is easy to make as well. I only had northern beans, dried, that I'd presoaked. So, I was in a rush the night I made it. I sauteed the meat & onion, then the garlic, brought the base to a boil, threw in a 350 degree oven and left the house for alittle over an hour. When I returned, I tossed the noodles in, grated the cheese and then stirred in the spinach at the end. This meal was a huge hit. My husband says, "Its the best soup EVER." Thanks, allrecipes. You win again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made this to share at an event at my community and my neighbors are STILL talking about how good it was months later!! I'm making it again for Super Bowl!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Yummy!! I followed the recipe exactly and this is now a family favorite and will make the rotation!! My teenager didn't even mind the spinach! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I've made this twice. I really can't say why it is rated less than 5 stars! Follow the directions and don't complain about a recipe, if you've changed it. The hot Italian sausage is a must! The spinach gives it a peppery flavor - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
EXCELLENT soup. I made it pretty much to recipe and it's delicious!! Used a combo of baby spinach and kale because that's all the local mega Mart had. Was a great addition of flavor and color. Can't wait to make this again on some cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Cranberry Bean Ragout

See Chef John’s delicious take on homemade pork and beans.

Cranberry Bean Ragout

See how to make a simple cranberry bean and fresh corn ragout.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States