Sausage and Bean Ragout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This turned out really well, even with my "healthier" adjustments. I'm quite surprized. I used one pound ground turkey instead of ground beef and I used all organic chicken broth. I did not have white kidney beans but I did have organic chickpeas, which I used in their place. I did not have fresh basil so I used a good measure of dried basil. Because I'm watching my carbs, I used about a cup or so of cauliflower instead of pasta that I cooked in the same organic chicken broth that I used in the soup. After tasting it, I added about a teaspoon or so of crushed red pepper flake. Really surprizingly good and really great using pantry items I already had on hand. NOTE: I did use almost all organic ingredients where I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Delicious! I omitted the ground beef. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is good, although it seems any soup made with Italian sausage is good! Very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This recipe is great. I love the fresh taste and that it's hearty without being too heavy. In order for the pasta to cook thoroughly, I turned up the heat after adding it to the recipe. I added some wine for good measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
We really enjoyed this recipe. I used one pkg. of lean turkey sausages (mild Italian flavor, about 5), and ommitted the beef. I used sodium reduced broth and sodium free tomatoes. I put the fresh spinach in the bowl, then poured the hot soup over the spinach, as some people don't like spinach in their soup. I was tempted to add some bell peppers, but it tasted perfect as is...will definetly make again. I served it with naan bread for dipping. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I've had some soup recipes that I've made over and over again on this site. This recipe is a TRUE WINNER. So much flavor, love the hardiness... perfect on a cold evening. I used mild and hot sausage, and a half pound of GB. Next time, I will leave it out. I didn't have flavored tomatoes, just used plain diced ones. Still came out GREAT! I will be making this a lot more in the future. So HAPPY I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
i didn't use fresh basil...i think it might be tastier with and i didn't use hot sausage, maybe next time will try a little spicy sausage, it was very hardy and great for a cold day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Summers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was so so good. Used 1 pound of Italian sausage and half pound ground turkey. Next time though I will only use half pound of sausage and half ground turkey and will try a pesto feta spinach chicken sausage they have at my local food market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
The whole family gave it 5 stars! I did use what I had on hand (red kidney beans and parm). Was quick to make, will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is perfect! No need to make any changes. Follow the recipe to the T and you will be forever happy. I was! And to make it even better, it was quick and easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Cranberry Bean Ragout

See Chef John’s delicious take on homemade pork and beans.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Cranberry Bean Ragout

See how to make a simple cranberry bean and fresh corn ragout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States