Sausage and Bean Ragout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Very good soup!!! The flavors (thanks to the fresh basil) were wonderful and I will definitely make it again. I substituted a couple things (doubled sausage amount and dropped the ground beef, 2 cans of beans versus beans plus pasta, baby kale for spinach). I think this is versatile enough for a lot of variations. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Pretty good. Makes a HUGE portion so expect to eat it as leftovers for several days or freeze a portion for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I burned my tongue trying to taste it too soon as it smelled so good! I like it a lot - scaled down from the amounts of meat called for because I was using fewer servings. I read reviews and the only difference was I used kale instead of spinach. Wahooo! My first time using kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was simple and easy and made a wonderful and healthy soup. I topped it with julienned fresh basil and freshly grated parmesan cheese. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe. I followed the recipe as written substituting homemade silvia beans (using the black bean recipe submitted by Ives on the all recipes website)for the can of cannellini beans. Both recipes were delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I really liked this. I didn't use any ground beef and used one pound sweet Italian sausage cause I'm whimpy about spiciness. Super easy to make. I only had access to a large can of crushed tomatoes with basil so I used those instead of the diced. Added some Italian spices since I didn't use the tomatoes with the basil, garlic and oregano. The fresh basil really adds nice flavor so if possible don't omit. Preboiled my pasta so it didnt soak up my lovely soup. After cooked and drained, added it to the soup. This recipe is great but is also a good starting point to add other veggies and/or different beans. Update- even better second and third days. Had for lunches and enjoyed every drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Fabius flavor. I only had sausage defrosted but that was enough to give it a great kick. I used penne pasta and cooked extra separately because a half cup just didn't seem to be enough. Kids and hubby devoured it, and there were plenty of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dkayyy
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Didn't make it exactly like this because I didn't have some ingredients but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This was easy and delicious. I used ~1.25 pounds of both sausage and beef. I used two cans of navy beans instead of kidney beans. I used about 6 cloves of garlic. I used two bay leaves. I used a 28oz. can of mild Rotel instead of diced tomatoes. I added an extra 1/4 cup of broth. I used ~2 cups of cooked spiral pasta-cooked it separate and slightly underdone. Was taking to a potluck, so I brought all ingredients to a boil as directed and then dumped into a crock-pot overnight for ~6-7 hours on low. I then added ~7oz. of slightly chopped "young" spinach, slightly underdone pasta and ~1/2 cup of freshly grated Romano cheese. I transported to my venue and plugged in on warm for another 2 hours. Served with more Romano. There was plenty of flavor/kick, the beans weren't too mushy, and the pasta was just right. The best part is that everyone loved it and went back for more (including me!)-no leftovers. The key on the pasta is cooking it separate and adding it a little before serving. If you had no flavor, I suggest buying a better quality hot sausage and maybe a different kind of diced tomatoes. If you have a food processor, keeping fresh grated Romano/Parmesan is easy - grate an entire block and freeze - it can be used on most anything directly out of the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Cranberry Bean Ragout

See Chef John’s delicious take on homemade pork and beans.

Cranberry Bean Ragout

See how to make a simple cranberry bean and fresh corn ragout.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States