Sausage and Bean Ragout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Very yummy! Liked it better without the ground beef; used Parmesan cheese I had on hand. Note: Do NOT use more than 1/2 pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
delicious! so flavorful & hearty. I omitted the ground beef-it would have been too much meat, and probably would have changed the flavor - believe me, it doesnt need it. Also substituted light red kidney beans and parmesean cheese. It's a favorite of ours now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
The textures and flavors of the ingredients blend well to make this a tasty dish. I too omitted the ground beef as others had - the sausage was plenty of meat. I used beef broth instead of chicken and parm cheese instead of romano simply because that's what I had on hand. This recipe will be going into my "family favorites" folder to be used again on another cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This recipe was AWESOME. It was so good that my husband went back to the leftovers just 1.5 hours after dinner! I did make some minor changes based on what I had in the house (parm instead of romano like the other reviewers), but the big change I made was to use kale instead of spinach. I would definitely recommend the kale -- its not as wilty as spinach, holds up better in leftovers, and adds a nice different bit of texture to the dish. Also, I did keep the amount of meat recommended in the recipe, and would definitely do both the sausage and ground beef. It's meaty, but oh so good (and I'm not a huge meat person)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
My Mom gave me this recipe last year, she get it in an email from Cambell's Kitchen and it is my favorite soup in the world. Since the first time I made it, my roommates refer to is simply as 'the soup'. The only change I make is that I use dried basil instead of fresh, simply because its easier. This is a wonderful winter soup that is delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is the first soup I've ever made- it was so easy and tastes delicious!I left out the ground beef because I wanted a more brothy soup and didn't want to end up with 12 cups (although I'd probably eat that much of it). Forget chicken soup for colds- even with a stuffy nose, I can tell this is the best soup ever, and the spicyness is allowing me to breathe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
My husband and I LOVED this recipe! I said, "do you like it?" He said, "no, I LOVE IT!" The only thing he requested was to add more pasta next time. We had it again for dinner tonight...and I think it might even be better today. Thank you for posting the recipe! 5 stars, perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe! I followed others' suggestion of leaving out the ground beef. I'm glad I did, otherwise it would have been too meaty. Great for a cold evening. Try to use the cannellini beans-made the dish very colorful and pretty. Serve with crusty warm bread and a hearty red wine. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Very, very tasty!! Unfortunately I forgot to add the pasta due to one to many glasses of wine. We loved it and thought the pasta would have been great in it. I will make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This soup-stew was just awesome. It made a ton (for two people, enough for four meals!) I cut the meat in half though, and used "hot" italian sausage from the market. So 1/2 lb of beef, 1/2 lb of sausage. I didn't have fresh basil, so I used about 1 tsp of dried. I used red kidney beans. For spinach I chopped up 1/2 bunch of fresh baby spinach leaves. I forgot the cheese :( For leftovers we just added more chicken broth to make it soupy again. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elli

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Cranberry Bean Ragout

See Chef John’s delicious take on homemade pork and beans.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Cranberry Bean Ragout

See how to make a simple cranberry bean and fresh corn ragout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States