Sausage and Bean Ragout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I just made my first batch of this and I'm impressed! It takes like something that took much longer than the prep and cook time suggests! The hot sausage (I was lucky to find 1lb of just the meat, so didn't even have to deal with getting it out of the casing!) provides a nice bit of heat, this would be perfect for a winter meal. I swapped a few things: white beans for a six bean mix I usually have in the house, elbows for penne rigate, and spinach for kale. As some others have noted, kale holds up a lot better in soups than spinach. I also threw in a cup of diced celery to give it some more crunch, and cooked the pasta separately until halfway done before adding it to the pot. I can tell this will be a go-to recipe for cold weather and a must for freezer portions later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Very good soup!!! The flavors (thanks to the fresh basil) were wonderful and I will definitely make it again. I substituted a couple things (doubled sausage amount and dropped the ground beef, 2 cans of beans versus beans plus pasta, baby kale for spinach). I think this is versatile enough for a lot of variations. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Pretty good. Makes a HUGE portion so expect to eat it as leftovers for several days or freeze a portion for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I burned my tongue trying to taste it too soon as it smelled so good! I like it a lot - scaled down from the amounts of meat called for because I was using fewer servings. I read reviews and the only difference was I used kale instead of spinach. Wahooo! My first time using kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was simple and easy and made a wonderful and healthy soup. I topped it with julienned fresh basil and freshly grated parmesan cheese. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe. I followed the recipe as written substituting homemade silvia beans (using the black bean recipe submitted by Ives on the all recipes website)for the can of cannellini beans. Both recipes were delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I really liked this. I didn't use any ground beef and used one pound sweet Italian sausage cause I'm whimpy about spiciness. Super easy to make. I only had access to a large can of crushed tomatoes with basil so I used those instead of the diced. Added some Italian spices since I didn't use the tomatoes with the basil, garlic and oregano. The fresh basil really adds nice flavor so if possible don't omit. Preboiled my pasta so it didnt soak up my lovely soup. After cooked and drained, added it to the soup. This recipe is great but is also a good starting point to add other veggies and/or different beans. Update- even better second and third days. Had for lunches and enjoyed every drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Fabius flavor. I only had sausage defrosted but that was enough to give it a great kick. I used penne pasta and cooked extra separately because a half cup just didn't seem to be enough. Kids and hubby devoured it, and there were plenty of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dkayyy
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Didn't make it exactly like this because I didn't have some ingredients but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Cranberry Bean Ragout

See Chef John’s delicious take on homemade pork and beans.

Cranberry Bean Ragout

See how to make a simple cranberry bean and fresh corn ragout.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States