Sausage and Apple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I use Jimmy Dean's Sage Breakfast sausage, and I add the apples (1 granny smith, 1 gala apple) to the celery/onion mix when I'm sauteeing. I use real butter and a little bit of the sausage grease to cook the celery mix. Also, I double the sausage, celery and onion amounts, take out the chestnuts, add a handful of orange flavored craisins and/or chopped nuts. Using broth is better too (low sodium). This is the best stuffing ever. I'm going to try it in the slow cooker this year. My family LOVES this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I trippled this recipe and made it last year for Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it so much that I came on here to find it again. I followed the recipe exactly, except for the water chestnuts, and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Thank you for this recipe. My family looks forward to it every Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
This recipe is delicious!! It is a little on the heavy side, however, it is a must have at holiday dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I substituted turkey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meowza

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made this on Christmas Eve, and then again this week as cold weather comfort food. I substituted kielbasa for the sausage, which was delish! Browned it first. Also, I tend to add more onion and less water chesnuts and celery -- just personal taste. Both times, I chose not to add the whole third apple. BEST stuffing I've ever had -- love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I was looking for a stuffing to compare to the one my father made for years but that was easier and faster to make and this is the closest that I've come. So, for the past few Thanksgiving and Christmas this is the one we now have and and everybody loves it! I usually substitute turkey sausage for pork as I have some family members who don't eat pork and it still tastes great. I also add the apples to the saucepan with the celery mix for the last few minutes of cooking and sometimes substitue regular chestnuts for the water chestnuts if I happen to have them on hand. All in all a fantastic stuffing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I've helped my mom make sausage dressing since I was a little girl. This isn't the same recipe but it is as close as I can find. This is a great recipe, but don't make the same mistake that I did last year. I used Granny Smith apples and the tart flavor was not great. Definitely use sweet apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Really good! Nice and moist. I love how the heat of the sausage and sweetness of the apple work together. I added a little more celery and onion than called for after reading the reviews and I think that made it really good. I like the textures that the onions, celery, apples, and water chestnuts give it. Great!!!! I doubled the recipe and it all got ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA
Living In: Easton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This stuffing is so good! The only thing I would do differently next time is not use as many apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Nichols Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Circle Pines, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States