Sausage and Apple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I've made this recipe for years with just few variations. #1 I have a large family so I use a full pound of sausage. #2 I use 2 different packages of stuffing...regular bread and corn bread. #3 I add chopped pecans in place of the water chestnuts. Always a big hit with the entire family...even the 8 grandbabies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexie Malaszewski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I make this stuffing for Thanksgiving every year and triple the recipe because it's such a favorite. Everyone wants some to take home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is the stuffing recipe i have used for the past two years at Thanksgiving, and let me tell you, I look forward to it every year! Before this recipe, I never liked stuffing at all. Delicious, easy, so flavorful. Complete winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I love this recipe! I do add 1 lb sausage, 1 cup celery,1 cup onion & only 2 apples (personal pref).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was delicious. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Yummy stuffing! I used turkey sausage in place of the pork and used only 2 apples (honey crisp). Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caranam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
One of the best stuffing recipes I've ever tried - and i've tried a lot. This one was easy and tasty. I used sweet Italian sausage, for an extra-savory treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
VERY DISAPPOINTING!!! had such high hopes based on the good reviews. water chestnuts weren't a good idea, almonds would probably have tasted better and added a nicer texture. Needed more celery and onion. The apples should have been cooked before adding to stuffing mixture. I was hoping for special treat however, this was a flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
The bottom was too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicavermilye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Would give 4-1/2 stars. The directions are a bit contradictory as my Pepperidge Farm (sage/onion) dry stuffing mix directions called for chicken broth, butter, onions & celery to prepare. So, all I additionally added was 1 Honey Crisp apple, 1 - 7 oz box of maple flavor turkey sausage (cooked and crumbled) and a handful of toasted coursely chopped walnuts. Didn't have water chestnuts on hand. Added fresh grnd pepper and a bit of fresh grated nutmeg. I bake as a side dish as I don't stuff my turkey. Cooked covered for 30 minutes then stirred it around. Baked for another 15 min uncovered or until top a bit browned . I would add more sausage next time as it wasn't noticable. Otherwise...good idea you can fiddle around with. Oh, can be prepared a day ahead and refrigerated (covered). Bring to room temp before baking or it will need longer cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States