Sausage and Apple Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Made this for 2012 Christmas morning and everyone liked it. Nice change from breakfast sausage casserole (croutons, mushroom soup, etc) and easy to make. I used English Muffin Toast bread cut into cubes which had more body than bread since I didn't have french bread. Worked great! Some liked it plain, or with maple syrup as suggested. Will make it again but will add in sauted onions for a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Definitely a keeper! EVERYONE thoroughly enjoyed this for Christmas morning brunch! Inasmuch as I LOVE maple syrup, I enjoyed this without the syrup. Sides of pepperocini and/or pickled asparagus compliment this recipe. As a leftover, I enjoyed it warm or straight out of the frig ... GREAT finger food! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victoriouswarrior78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I felt this recipe had too much bread in it. I would have liked it more custardy and I'm not sure I like the choice of cheddar cheese in here. If I make this again, I might try another kind of cheese and definitely cut the bread down by at least a 1/3. Somehow the flavors in this recipe just didn't come together for me like I expected they would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is unusual and good. My friends liked it better than I did. I only used 1/2 the amount of cheese and just poured some maple syrup on it right out of the oven for a little sweetner. That's easier than serving it separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Fantastic recipe...used about 1/2 cup french vanilla creamer mixed with the 2 1/2 cups milk to total the 3 c required.... yummo... kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
We didn't like this much at all. It was too bready. Like bread pudding with sausage and apples. The flavors just didn't blend well or mesh with our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My family and friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking momma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
We were disappointed. It sounded so delicious, but the end result seemed bland and my family did not like very much. Noone ate the leftovers. I did follow one user's recommendation and tried it using cinnamon raisin bread, but other than that I followed the recipe. I don't know what might have gone wrong, because it sure sounded good -- but didn't taste at all like what I had anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. I made a few variations. Cooked sausage links, chopped up and added an extra cup. I also added extra apples, sugar and cinamon, 1 cup of chopped walnuts and some nutmeg. I used three kinds of bread, french, cinamon and wheat. I only used 1/2 of the cheese that was called for. I made it the night before and stored it in the fridge until I baked it the next morning. It came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was my first attempt at a Breakfast Casserole and it turned out great! I used twice the apples, Jimmy Dean Maple flavored sausage and used raisin bread instead of French bread, as another reviewer had suggested. I drizzled maple syrup over mine as I have a SWEET tooth. My boyfriend - who is more for savory - preferred his without syrup and had THREE helpings. He LOVED this, haha. I will be making this again, I may even add some raisins next time as they were sooooo good in the bread. This dish did taste best once it "sat" for about 15-20 mins out off the oven. Looking forward to having this again on Christmas morning, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States