Sausage and Apple Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This delicious casserole tastes like french toast with apples, sausage, and cinnamon-y sweetness. **My variations: --I always add extra apple dices (the recipe doesn't call for enough, IMO) --I go a little lighter on the cheese (to preserve the sweet, french-toast-y flavor --I use homemade whole wheat bread instead of white french bread, which results in a more solid (less soggy) french toast texture --I store it in the fridge already baked (not before baking, as the recipe says) and then the next day, I slice it and bake it up in the toaster oven for extra crispy exterior. The small, as it toasts, is amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
We have been making this casserole for years, and it pleases both the savory & sweet crowd at brunch! You will love this recipe as written, but I have made modifications over the years that are also good. I prefer to use Jimmy Dean's Maple Sausage for added sweetness. I have also used cinnamon swirl, sourdough, and cinnamon raisen bread in place of the French bread, and I think they're all great. I also prefer to use Granny Smith (tart) or Honey Crisp apples for their crisp texture, and top with Gruyere cheese instead of cheddar (but both are great). TIP: Make it the night before you want to serve it, cover, and refrigerate overnight. Then pull it out and let it sit on your counter for 30 - 45 minutes before you pop it in the oven. Great for Christmas morning, so you can sit by the tree instead of in your kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusySpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Easy to make. A nice combination of sweet and savory flavors. Substituted asiago bread cubes for some of the french bread, which made it better. Also used mild italian sausage that I already had cooked. Definitely serve with syrup to balance the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
In step 2 it tells you what to do with the apples. You add to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Good with precooked bacon instead of sausage as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellensburg, Washington, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Very easy and REALLY GOOD! I've never made a breakfast casserole...I'm hooked. Had to use what I had on hand. I cut recipe in half and used wheat bread instead of French bread, browned up 8oz pork sausage and I didn't have any shredded cheddar. I used 1 1/2 cps 4 cheese italian and dotted some velvetta cheese on top with alittle more 4 cheese italian. I always have an apple on hand and used a mutsu apple.....this baked up wonderful and now I can't wait to make it the way the recipe calls for. I used an 8x8 pan in the toaster oven. My husband loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is good. I thought it was better after it had set for 20 minutes instead of just 10. One of those better the next day dishes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was fantastic. I wanted a different spin on the typical breakfast casserole and when I saw this one I had to try it. Everyone loved it! I drizzled some syrup over the top before serving it. I also used granny smith apples instead of Golden Delicious. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovegoodfood2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was my first attempt at a Breakfast Casserole and it turned out great! I used twice the apples, Jimmy Dean Maple flavored sausage and used raisin bread instead of French bread, as another reviewer had suggested. I drizzled maple syrup over mine as I have a SWEET tooth. My boyfriend - who is more for savory - preferred his without syrup and had THREE helpings. He LOVED this, haha. I will be making this again, I may even add some raisins next time as they were sooooo good in the bread. This dish did taste best once it "sat" for about 15-20 mins out off the oven. Looking forward to having this again on Christmas morning, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. I made a few variations. Cooked sausage links, chopped up and added an extra cup. I also added extra apples, sugar and cinamon, 1 cup of chopped walnuts and some nutmeg. I used three kinds of bread, french, cinamon and wheat. I only used 1/2 of the cheese that was called for. I made it the night before and stored it in the fridge until I baked it the next morning. It came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States