Sauerkraut-Stuffed Slow-Cooked Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I used a pork loin with a bag of kraut, some onion, sliced apple and a little brown sugar--and some caraway. Next time a little more apple and brown sugar! Great with mashed poatoes and white gravy! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANCIE63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I tried this with a pork roast I bought on sale, and wow!! In my opinion, this is the BEST and EASIEST way to prepare a pork roast. It was absolutely delicious. I served it with mashed potatoes and green beans. The meat was tender, the juices were so tasty. The sauerkraut didn't overwhelm the dish, in fact, most of my family were suprised there was kraut in it at all. They could see it, but it just didn't have that "in your face and up your nose" kick that they expected. I had to guard the leftovers! ;) This will be on my standard list of recipes. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marigat
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Easy and very good. It tasted delicious served with potato pancakes topped with sour cream and apples cooked in brown sugar and butter. I shredded the leftover pork the next day, heated it up with some barbeque sauce, and served it open-faced on top thickly sliced and toasted French bread. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was delicious and sooooo easy! I sprinkled about one tablespoon of brown sugar on top of the pork roast. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This is the exact recipe I use except we slice the roast (or a loin) and lay it flat in a casserole dish,pour kraut over it and cook for a LONG time. When it is done we put rolls on top and bake until they are done. (They do get soft on bottom, YUM.) My family LOVES this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This is a perfect lazy, freezing-cold Saturday night dinner. I used 16 ozs of bagged sauerkraut and added 1/3 cup raisins and 1/3 cup sliced apples to it and stuffed it all into the middle of the roast. The meat was moist, flavorful, and my toddler daughter scraped her plate. Will definitely add to my favs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Easy and de-de-delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was delicious! Smelled so good in the slow cooker, came out moist and tasty. I did follow other reviewer's advice - added 1 apple, 1 onion (both cut up) and 1 tbsp. brown sugar.Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Excellent, and easy. I added a few onions and left it in the crock pot longer than directed. It was so tender. Everyone raved. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This was absolutely wonderful! My whole family enjoyed it. I served it with BarbiAnn's "Aunt Kate's Green Beans in Tomatoes" (from this site) and Apples sauteed in butter, orange juice and cinnamon. Great Meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. St. Clair

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States