Sauerkraut-Stuffed Slow-Cooked Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Simple and tasty! This is my husband's favorite crock pot pork meal. I use two cans of sauerkraut because we like a lot! I took the advice of other reviewers and sprinkled 2 tablespoons of brown sugar over the sauerkraut. I serve with applesauce and pan sauteed pierogies with sliced onion. Quick and easy weekday meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
After reading the rave reviews on this simple dish, I was wary but thought I would give it a try. I was very unimpressed. I assumed the strong flavor of the sauerkraut would flavor the pork while still remaining flavorful itself just less pungent. My pork turned out to be somewhat bland, and the sauerkraut seemed to be drained of any flavor it may have started out with. I like these two ingredients, but together alone for hours in my slow cooker they seemed to have lost all their appeal. I left it as 3 stars only because the idea of such a simple meal is so tantalizing...it just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
We absolutely loved this! Just like the way Dad use to make it. I added a lg jar of the kraut,1T of brown sugar,2t of caraway seed. I mixed some of the juice after with 2 pkgs of dry pork gravy mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Wonderful recipe! Used it for a dinner party and everyone loved it! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This very simple recipe is wonderful, Im already wanting it again and I just made it 2 days ago, very moist and flavorful, I almost didnt make this because I was worried about the childrens reaction to saurkraut, but I like it so much that I went ahead, and Im pleased to say everyone ate this right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koolaidemomstaci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Ok. Nothing great. Kind of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Very good and juicy. I used a whole big jar of claussen sauerkraut. I've made it a couple of times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Steilacoom, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Different, low carb choice - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I add a can of beer to the slow cooker and rinse the sauerkraut first. Very tender and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This was a great dish. My wife and I love sauekraut so we used more than the recipe called for and did not drain or rinse it. After it was done we browned a butter and flour mixture and mad a gravy with the juice that was left. We sometimes mix the sauerkraut in with the gravy and serve over mashed potatoes. We will be making this meal again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

How NOT to Make Pork Roast, a Cautionary Tale

Watch Chef John mess up a pork roast, and learn how to do it right!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States