Sauerkraut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I give this five stars, w/an asterisks noting this is wonderful in cup/appetizer sizing! I wouldn't prefer it as an entree/meal, but in a smaller portion it is fantastic! I subbed smoked ham for the sausage (and sauteed it and the onion in a bit of butter), but other than that followed the recipe, though I did reduce the thyme a touch per personal preference. This was delicious and unlike anything I've ever eaten. I think it would be delicious w/some leftover mashed potatoes added to the mix, too. THANKS for the unusual recipe, KFREESE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I used pork sausage, added a little salt and pepper and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I changed the recipe because I had fresh kafir lime leaves, thai ginger and little sauerkraut....so I added all that and trim coconut milk instead of half and half. Added sauted bean sprouts and fusion cooking voila.....but the basic idea remained the same, hence the comment.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Trying to switch it up for dinner with smoked sausage can be difficult. This recipe was quick and simple. The results were great! My husband and teenage daughter weren't on board, but changed their tune after the first bite. The only thing that was adjusted was the simmer time. it took more like 10 minutes to thicken the soup. Awsome meal for a cold winters night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was very good. You have to get past the idea of the combination of these ingredients but it really does work. I had some sauerkraut that was leftover from another recipe which had apples, carrots and caraway seeds in it so I used it. I did not use the thyme as I am not a fan and the sauerkraut was already seasoned. I halved the recipe but used 4 Tablespoons of flour to be sure we got a thick soup. It actually turned out too thick and I had to add some chicken broth. Thanks for educating us on a different kind of soup. We will be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I'll make it again and again! My kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya Kankles
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Thanks for the recipe - I made it as written except I used beef broth and yogurt instead of milk and half-and-half. I also added some caraway to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Reminds me of my Mom's sauerkraut and dumplings. After reading reviews, I decided to make it more thick by leaving out some of the milk and had it over mashed potatoes. I used a good quality smoked sausage from local meat company. Talk about comfort food on a very cold winter evening! My husband and two son's really enjoyed it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I really liked it, and so did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time last night, and it was a big hit!! My grandson who is only 2 yrs of age had 2 bowls of soup. It has a very pleasant taste. I will definately make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States