Sauerkraut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Katie Muirhead
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Yummyyyyy! I had so much sauerkraut left over from a cookout and had no idea what to do with it. This is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Muirhead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
My family loved this. I added extra homemade kraut as we liked that taste. I also used green onions. It was great and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katreece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This is okay in small amounts. If I make it again, I'll add some mashed potatoes to it. I used some chicken broth in place of the milk, but other than that, followed the recipe. DH didn't care for it at all, and chose to eat leftovers instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Used venison ring bologna instead - awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Thanks for the recipe - I made it as written except I used beef broth and yogurt instead of milk and half-and-half. I also added some caraway to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I liked this, DH did not. In fact, he took one bite and said "no thanks" (VERY unusual for him) and proceeded to eat bread and butter, along with leftover pasta salad. Hopefully his mom and dad will like it, because I have all the leftovers for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Reminds me of my Mom's sauerkraut and dumplings. After reading reviews, I decided to make it more thick by leaving out some of the milk and had it over mashed potatoes. I used a good quality smoked sausage from local meat company. Talk about comfort food on a very cold winter evening! My husband and two son's really enjoyed it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was very good. You have to get past the idea of the combination of these ingredients but it really does work. I had some sauerkraut that was leftover from another recipe which had apples, carrots and caraway seeds in it so I used it. I did not use the thyme as I am not a fan and the sauerkraut was already seasoned. I halved the recipe but used 4 Tablespoons of flour to be sure we got a thick soup. It actually turned out too thick and I had to add some chicken broth. Thanks for educating us on a different kind of soup. We will be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I really liked it, and so did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This recipe for me was not palatable, nor was it for my neighbor who taste-tested it. Not sure what was wrong, but this recipe is a "no-go" for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States