Sauerkraut Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Good recipe...My family makes homemade sauerkraut every year. I always add a cooking apple finely chopped/grated to add sweetness...It works in this recipe too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This was very good - everyone but my three year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Although our family liked the soup, we didn't finish our bowls. There was just something off~maybe next time (if there is a next time) I would add another can of cream of chicken to add more creamy flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Milverton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Wonderful flavor! Used 14oz can saurkraut, 12oz pkg cheddarwurst, fresh carrots/potatoes, and a cup less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I have to give this 5 stars because 5 out of 5 people at my dinner table loved this soup! I used a bag of diced potatos w/onion because that's what I had, and added some onion powder to taste...it was a very pretty soup...the aroma was wonderful. My husband says I have to make this again...excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmy Sue Ruby Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamston, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This was delicious! My boyfriend is allergic to mushrooms so, borrowing off of what other reviewers said, I skipped the cream of mushroom soup and substituted a pound of chicken breasts and shredded them about an hour before serving. It turned out great and the sauerkraut flavor was not overwhelming at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Interesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I had to make too many changes to rate this higher than a 3, but this is a good base recipe to modify according to what you like. The first time I made exactly like recipe, and it was way too watery, not enough meat, and I wasn't crazy about the dill taste. The 2nd time, I eliminated the water altogether, doubled the meat (used hot turkey sausage links to decrease the fat content) used parsley instead of dill, and fresh carrots and potatoes. After all that, it was an excellent soup. I used a 32 oz jar of kraut also, and kept some of the juice in there. Delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I have made this soup numerous times and it's one of my family's favorite meals. They ask for it weekly! It's especially good during the cold winter months as it is very rich and filling. I made it the first time as written, and have since made the following changes. I only gave it four stars because I think it's much better with fresh vegetables instead of canned. I used three yukon gold potatoes (peeled and cubed) five or six carrots (peeled and coined) about 1 1/2 TBS dried dill weed, a 32 oz. jar of sauerkraut with the juice, and a little extra chicken broth. Also, I leave out the garlic. With these changes it's a fantastic meal if you're a sauerkraut lover! It really reminds me of the sauerkraut soup at the Polish restaurant in my hometown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azshelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
With all the great reviews I was expecting more from this soup. It was fine but I don't think it was outstanding. I think it had too much water, I would recommend reducing it by a cup and a half or 2 cups. An extra can of potatoes would have been good. After tasting this we added about 1/4 cup cooked brown rice to the bottom of our bowls of soup. This addition helped with the watery aspect. It is fairly inexpensive and does make a lot so it would be ideal for a St. Patty’s party or Oktoberfest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States