Sauerkraut Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
i added way more kraut cause we love it. i also thickened it with starch. great dipped with rye bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
After searching for ever for similar ingredients. I changed it up a bit ;->. I rated this 4 stars because it was easy and gave me a boost to what I had on hand...I use 1 1/2 LBS GROUND VENISON SAUSAGE (low fat), FRESH 1/2 head CABBAGE, 2 stalk CELERY, 1-2 large CARROTS,2-4 cut up RED POTATOS (depending on size) AND 2 cloves Fresh GARLIC..seasoned as directed.. use the crock pot on high for 2 hr and low for 4 hrs. and it turned out Absolutely Fantastic... Will go great with french bread, salad and to top it off. cold frosty BEER.... great (after Trick-Treat) dinner :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha the Dish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Tip: If you drain/rinse the sauerkraut it takes care of complaints about this soup being too sour. I did this and I think it's more of a sweet-sour. I also drained and rinsed the other veggies...rinsing reduces the salt content. Also, I used polish turkey sausage; I think that worked very well and probably lowered the calories a bit more from those calculated. To make it healthier, next time I'm going to use fresh carrots, fresh potatoes, and figure out how to make the base cream soups from scratch. I did use home made chicken broth this time just like I do for everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
we loved this, very goood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burrwarren

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Maquoketa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Really enjoyed this soup but we love kraut. I did take a small tube of biscuits, tore it into little pieces, and added the dough to the soup the last 30 minutes, cooking on high. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Sauerkraut soup is a tradition in Slovakia for Christmas Eve dinner and my husband thought this tasted like what he had growing up. I added bay leaves and a few corn peppers. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I love souerkraut and thought it was ok. If I made again, I think I would try rinsing the sauerkraut before making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This was a wonderful soup! I gave it 4 stars because we didn't see the need for the extra water. I parboiled one large baking potato and a bag of frozen mirepoix, used 12 oz. of Johnsonville Cheddar and Jalapeno sausages and a 14 oz. can of drained sauerkraut. I'll definitely make this again - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lyndan
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This is a good, hardy soup. Like many other reviewers, I used fresh carrots and potatoes. Since we do not like "sour" sauerkraut, I drained and rinsed it before adding it to the mix. I also used 28 ox. of sausage, but other than that, I followed the recipe. Very much a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Oh my word. This is fabulous! It smells delicious cooking, and I couldn't wait to sample it. I let i simmer on low for about an hour on the stovetop, and it was perfect. I used pre-sliced fresh carrots instead of canned, and omitted the sausage. After digging out from the blizzard here in Chicago, this soup most certainly hit the spot. Thanks so much Terrilyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States