Sauerkraut Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Party of 5 enjoyed this soup poured over fresh pierogi and a spoon of sour cream. Very easy to make. Made the soup the night before so next day barley had absorbed alot of the liquid. I added a cup of beef broth and the soup had a great texture - creamy and smooth. The flavour of the dried mushrooms came through - wonderful taste/memories of dinner at Grandmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookbythesea

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Great recipe! Nice to have one that is vegetarian. (all the other ones I've seen for sauerkraut soup seem to contain meat!) Simple and good. I used rice in place of barley and sauteed FRESH mushrooms with the onion in butter instead of using dried mushrooms. Other than that, i followed the recipe as is... I really like this. It's a keeper and will make again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grumblebee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I am so happy that I found this recipe!!! It was very close if not the same in taste as the one my Polish grandma made for Christmas Eve dinner. I loved the using the dried mushrooms (that was different than Grandma). And I used lima beans instead of the barley because that is what Grandma used. I think next time(already made twice since Christmas Eve) I will add additional mushrooms. Thank you for this recipe most I found were made with meat. I needed one vegetarian in nature so this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valeri1274

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is very similar to the soup that we serve on Christmas Eve. We add potatos and yellow lentils and do not add barley. Very similar flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmihal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I definitely did not expect to like this, but the flavors do mellow quite a bit... Still a little too "kraut-y" for me, but my parents and a Polish friend loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This recipe made a large quantity of soup. It made much more than six servings. My husband and I did not care for it at all, thus have lots left over. Will drain it and eat the sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
instead of the flour to thicken just use 2 cans of golden mushroom soup perfect every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I am loving this soup. Very velvety tasting. Perfect for a dreary fall day watching football. Love the way the mushroom-onion-sauerkraut flavors meld. No changes to the recipe necessary. Wonderful original taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Darling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Fantastic! I was looking for a 'veggie' alternative to the traditional New Year's pork and sauerkraut and this is definately it! I ended up adding an extra quart of water and it was still plenty thick. I didn't have dried mushrooms so I added 2 TB of mushroom boulion base to the soup and then sauteed fresh mushrooms with the onions. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CERAWALLACE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
My grandpa used to make this soup every Christmas Eve. When he passed away I decided I would take up the task, but I had no idea how to make it. Many other recipes include kielbasa or some other sausage, but his was always meatless. So this recipe is perfect and I use it every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States