Sauerkraut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
My family LOOOOOVED this recipe, with the modification that I made everything according to the recipe, but as I was pouring the sugar mixture over the salad, realized that the vegetables would literally be swimming in the sugar/oil/vinegar if I used the entire amount called for. So I only used about half of the liquid. I'll probably make slightly less than half the amount next time to go over the vegetables. This was used for a few weeks as a random side dish (it makes a LOT and I prefer to eat it a little at a time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Boyle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Excellent! First time I had way too much dressing so I used it on leaf salad. Sec time, I cut back on the oil and sugar. Better than coleslaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Way less sugar, added black pepper, celery seed and dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Let me start by saying I love Sauerkraut! That being said this salad is a winner. I used homemade sauerkraut, half the oil as suggested in previous reviews and used 1/2 cup sauerkraut juice & 1/2 tsp Mustard seed, 1/2 tsp Celery seed & 1/4 tsp Fennel seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stumbing Gourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I made this salad to take to a BBQ. Those who didn't like sauerkraut were skeptical at first but after everyone else was raving about how good it was they had to try it! It was a real hit and I came home with an empty bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shamusmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Easy and fast, I made it and we ate it an hour later, it was delicious. I used slightly less sugar and oil than called for. I think you could cut the oil in half. My mother and husband both loved it, as did I. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I loved this but, just a little too sweet, next time I'm going to try knocking the sugar down to 1 cup, and as was sugggested, I only used 1/2 cup of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was excellent, and the longer it sat, the better it tasted- while the vegetables remained crunchy. I usually don't like overly sweet food, so I was a little worried about the amount of sugar in this recipe, but to my surprise I did not find it to be too sweet. However, every time I ate this I felt a little guilty about the amount of sugar and oil, so next time I make it I will cut down on both. Four stars instead of five because although it is delicious and unique, it could be healthier with less sugar/oil. Thanks for the recipe; this one is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
very good... good use of leftover sauerkraut and keeps a long time in refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Davidson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauerkraut Salad

Quick and easy salad with sauerkraut and vegetables. Great as a side, or on top o

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States