Sauerkraut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
If you don't like strong vinegary tastes, you aren't going to like this. However, even if you don't like sauerkraut, don't be put off - if you let it sit in the 'frige as instructed, there is virtually no sauerkraut taste. Anyway, I LOVED this! I made it with a 14.5oz can of sauerkraut, and pretty much just eyeballed the rest of the ingredients. It got rather 'juicy' the next day - probably because I didn't drain the sauerkraut - but I just poured the liquid away. This salad is so crunchy and refreshing! Thanks so much, Joan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Sounded kinda funky...but thought it would go well with the corned beef and cabbage, Irish soda bread, Irish cream chocolate cheese cake, and Irish potato candy on St Pat's day - and it did! I had to double the recipe for the crowd I was having for dinner and it went very well. Got several requests for the recipe. try it-you'll like it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This an excellent salad. Great with sandwiches. Hard to wait the 2 days but worth the wait. Good idea to cut oil and use splenda for the sugar. Pays to read reviews to get input from others who have tried the recipe. Once you try it, it won't be long till second trial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Hubbard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
My guests were hesitant in trying this but once the first taster declared it good, it disappeared very quickly. Very tasty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I'm not a sauerkraut person, but my husband is so I made this for him on his birthday. He loved it and so did I! I used half the oil as others suggested and I used splenda instead of sugar. This is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Elmira, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
YUM!!! I only used half the oil as suggested and a red pepper instead of pimento. This is a wonderful tasty salad! Worth the 2 day wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKEYMAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hammond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
THIS IS AN EXCELLENT SALAD AND EASY TO MAKE SALAD. I CUT THE AMOUNT OF OIL IN HALF AND IT WAS STILL GOOD. NEXT TIME I THINK I'LL ONLY USE 1/4 OF THE OIL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
Delicious! A great alternative for picnics because there is no mayo or dairy products. I substitued red bell pepper for the pimento, and 2/3 c Splenda instead of the sugar. Also reduced the oil by almost half and used the food processor to chop the veggies. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2003
This is very good.Good with sandwiches or meats. It is more of a relish, than an actual salad, as one would think of salads being fresh greens.I think one could easily cut the oil down a little though, like 2/3 cup instead of one cup. The longer it sits the better it gets. I used "fresh" sauerkraut in the bag in the dairy case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I made this for my son's graduation party and got rave reviews from the relatives! They said that they liked it much better than cole slaw. Grandma said that she even liked this recipe better than the sauerkraut salad she makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauerkraut Salad

Quick and easy salad with sauerkraut and vegetables. Great as a side, or on top o

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States