Sauerkraut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
bleh. I love sauerkraut, but I didn't love this salad. I made it for a healthy potluck, and came home with 1/2 the container. I did 1/2 the sugar and oil. Oh well! At least 2 out of 12 people liked it, but not I sadly...Thanks for sharing, goes to show we all have different taste buds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seabrook, Texas, USA
Living In: Lago Vista, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is a long time favorite of mine. Make if for the holidays, potlucks and bbq's. Sort of a sweet/sour mix that is very pleasing. I use a little celery seed and caraway seed. Will try the mustard seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Made this was very skeptical since it was sauerkraut...family not big fans of sauerkraut. However this was wonderful. My kids and husband liked it. Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was allright. Made this on a Sunday and my fiance and I finally got around to eating it one day shy of a week later! I was planning to make Hungarian Goulash II this past week (I just started a new job and don't get home until 7ish; I had planned to slow cook a warm meal during the week, but was sick with the flu so I just made this this past weekend!) and thought this would be the perfect side dish to serve with it. My fiance didn't care for this at all (he wasn't fond of the sweet taste - and whoa is this sweet!!!); I thought this was so-so - pretty mediocre, IMHO. My fiance also felt that my "attempt" to pair sauerkraut with goulash was not a good idea lol :) All in all, I am glad I gave this a try, but because my fiance and I weren't impressed, I probably won't make it again. For those of you thinking of giving this a try, my only CRITICAL suggestion is to cut down on the sugar and oil (I cut back to 1/2 cup oil, but didn't decrease the amount of sugar called for). Thanks for sharing Dixie :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I added a green and one red fresh garden jalapeno's to this at the end to spice it up. It was very sweet coming right out of the refridgerator. Once it sat out at room temperature it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
This was really tasty. Kind of addicting once you start eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was darn close to Grandma's recipe! The original recipe appeared to have way too much sugar and oil (Grandma's was not oily at all), so I used the suggestion of another reviewer's recipe and used 1/3 c. each of oil, sugar, and vinegar. The final result was close, but just did not have the "zing" that Grandma's did, so I will play around with this and increase the sugar and vinegar a bit to see if I can capture the taste of Grandma's. Thanks for a great starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I cut back on oil and substituted Splenda for sugar. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This is crazy, freaking good. I used 1/2 the sugar recommended, but otherwise made as directed. My significant other and I both loved it. Will make this with all leftover sauerkraut from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Like everyone else I reduced the oil by half, and it was a BIG hit. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauerkraut Salad

Quick and easy salad with sauerkraut and vegetables. Great as a side, or on top o

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States