Sauerkraut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I made this salad to take to a BBQ. Those who didn't like sauerkraut were skeptical at first but after everyone else was raving about how good it was they had to try it! It was a real hit and I came home with an empty bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shamusmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Frances, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Easy and fast, I made it and we ate it an hour later, it was delicious. I used slightly less sugar and oil than called for. I think you could cut the oil in half. My mother and husband both loved it, as did I. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I loved this but, just a little too sweet, next time I'm going to try knocking the sugar down to 1 cup, and as was sugggested, I only used 1/2 cup of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was excellent, and the longer it sat, the better it tasted- while the vegetables remained crunchy. I usually don't like overly sweet food, so I was a little worried about the amount of sugar in this recipe, but to my surprise I did not find it to be too sweet. However, every time I ate this I felt a little guilty about the amount of sugar and oil, so next time I make it I will cut down on both. Four stars instead of five because although it is delicious and unique, it could be healthier with less sugar/oil. Thanks for the recipe; this one is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
very good... good use of leftover sauerkraut and keeps a long time in refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C. Davidson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Took this to a barbeque and it was a great hit. The sauerkraut was crunchy and not overpowering. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was excellent. I made it for a party and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
bleh. I love sauerkraut, but I didn't love this salad. I made it for a healthy potluck, and came home with 1/2 the container. I did 1/2 the sugar and oil. Oh well! At least 2 out of 12 people liked it, but not I sadly...Thanks for sharing, goes to show we all have different taste buds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seabrook, Texas, USA
Living In: Lago Vista, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is a long time favorite of mine. Make if for the holidays, potlucks and bbq's. Sort of a sweet/sour mix that is very pleasing. I use a little celery seed and caraway seed. Will try the mustard seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Made this was very skeptical since it was sauerkraut...family not big fans of sauerkraut. However this was wonderful. My kids and husband liked it. Will make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States