Sauerkraut Rye Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I loved this recipe. The bread was so moist inside and had a crispy crust. Next time I make it, I will double the caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
A delicious tangy and chewy bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I'd give this recipe ten stars if I could. The sauerkraut and molasses in the bread makes it so tasty. I used it to make a reuben sandwich and hubby said it is much more flavorful than the one at our favorite deli, which uses plain rye bread. To make in oven: bake at 350F for 35-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This bread is fabulous! I made it in my bread machine, but I used the dough cycle, so that I could make 2 smaller loaves instead of 1 large one. You can't actually taste the sauerkraut (which "disappears" as the bread bakes), but it gives a great, tangy flavor to this bread. It was the hit of the church bake sale, and I got lots of requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This bread is so good! It's wonderful for sandwiches. I didn't get a chance to use it for Reuben sandwiches before the first loaf was all gone! The sauerkraut really adds moisture and flavor. I doubled the caraway seed as others have mentioned. I added 2 teaspoons of vital wheat gluten and the texture was perfect. I made this on the 1.5 lb loaf white bread cycle with light crust and it was just right! Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Makes delicous sandwiches but is great with just butter. Couldn't stop eating it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
My husband loved this bread! I made it right before going out of town so I didn't get any fresh, but the one slice that was left a week later was really good. I actually had to add a little water and give the bread maker some TLC and help with mixing - maybe I drained the sauerkraut too well. Great bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2000
Great recepie. I love this bread with onion soup or for a ruben sandwitch. Just be sure to make sure the sauerkraut is very drained. The extra moisture will make your bread machine mix too wet. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
Very tasty - my family was surprised when I told them it was made with sauerkraut. Left out caraway seeds because we don't like them so ours probably wasn't as pungent as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tomi Fumimoto
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I was looking for something very rye, and found this one. Sauerkraut is not much familiar in Japan except at German beer houses, but I have always more loved garnished sauerkraut than sausages. I failed first time, though. I think I wasn't taking much seriously the advice to have the sauerkraut well drained. So the second time, I duly followed that tip, and the result was just perfect. I just love the aroma while baking, and in my kitchen where the bread is now sitting. Thanks for this inspiring recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomi Fumimoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States