Sauerkraut Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
If there's one thing I can't stand on hotdogs, it's store-bought relish. Yuck! But THIS relish is to die for!!!! Soooo yummy! Outstanding on hotdogs and brats, but also makes a great summer salad for any kind of grilled meat. Thank you so much for this recipe! It's a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I should have doubled the recipe. I made it as the recipe said but once we had tried it, it was so good, I knew I should have made more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Great! Even people that dont normally like sauerkraut liked this. Including me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CathyW
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
My version uses a hot bacon dressing (using only 2 tablespoons of brown sugar) poured over the top of the sauerkraut and peppers. My daughter eats it straight from the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seymour, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I really enjoyed this on brats and burgers! But, I think it scared ;my guests who mostly passed over it b/c I think they weren't sure what it was even though I tried to tell most of them. Those who did have it liked it. Not very appealing to look at, but then again most sauerkraut isn't! Worth a try if you're looking for something extra for the bbq spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRFISH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Love this recipe. When I serve it some top their hot dogs, brats, or burgers while others eat it as a side dish. I use about a 1/2 cup of sugar and if I feel it is too tart/sour before serving I just add more sugar. I've also substitured sweetner for the sugar. It lasts for weeks in the refrigerator just like pickles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Very good relish recipe, esp. for topping on brats...however, you do NOT NEED the amount of sugar that the recipe states...I used 1/3 c. of sugar instead, and it turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I made this for a family cookout this weekend and everyone liked it. The only change I made was to cut down on the sugar since most of us don't like sweet relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
This is a great tasting recipe. You can eat the Sauerkraut on a bratwurst or just eat it on the side as a salad. Very pretty to look at too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States