Sauerkraut Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I loved it and it was the rave for Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This casserole was a New Year's Day hit with our family After reading all the pepper cautions, I opted for a 1/2 tsp and this was perfect. I also did 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar which was also perfect. Used diced tomatoes and packaged read bacon bits for convenience. My husband put the leftovers on a hot dog the next day and loved it. Thanks for a great recipe to use on New Year's Day meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
Very different and excellent. We doubled the recipe and loved it! Recommend cutting down on the pepper (about half would do).Will make believers out of people who don't even like sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This is a fabulous recipe. I often take this when we're invited to friends for a barbque. The Slowcooker Sauerkraut and Sausage recipe on this site is another favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This was fantastic! I also reduced the amount of pepper to about 1 1/2 teaspoons, and rinsed and drained the sauerkraut before using it. I made this for an "Oktoberfest" luncheon we had at work. I made two pans, one with the tomatoes and one with a 15 oz. can of tomato sauce because that is what I had in the kitchen. I am glad I made two because all of it was gone at the end of the hour. People liked both types and I have had to give the recipe to numerous people and still have people asking me for it. Great recipe, will definitely be making again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I am in shock! My 3 year old tried this and asked for more!! He is the world's pickiest eater other than my 6 year old who did not like it--but that means NOTHING! LOL! I loved this--did rinse and drain the sauerkraut, cut back on the pepper and used real bacon bits and petite diced canned tomatoes ( I am lazy!)--this was AWESOME!! I loved it and will make again soon--will cut back on sugar next time just to reduce calories but it was great and I enjoyed it sweet! I am German and this is the real deal!!! :) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I've been making this recipe for years. The only difference is it calls for a 14 oz. CAN of diced tomatoes, undrained. I do slightly drain the kraut - otherwise it's too wet. It's fantastic with thick sliced applewood smoked bacon. I mix in about half of the bacon & use the rest to layer on top, which results in a nicely crisped top. Baking in a large, shallow, uncovered casserole is important to get the correct texture. It comes out salty/sweet/sour & silky from the bacon fat. I have never cut back the sugar because the dish is not supposed to be "sour". I love the sweetness! My hubby will eat this even though he won't go near regular kraut. It is a perfect accompaniment to a salty ham or any pork dish. It goes well with southern dishes like black-eyed peas, greens, cornbread, etc. I make it every year for New Year's dinner. It's always well received by guests, even those who claim to not like sauerkraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was fabulous! My husband, who claimed to not like sauerkraut, loved it. I did not rinse the sauerkraut and cut down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was great!! I was looking for a sauerkraut recipe for New Year's and will definitely be making this again. I did like some of the other reviewers did and used real bacon bits ( I think it may save some calories)and reduced the black pepper. I used Splenda instead of sugar and reduced the calories considerably. The taste was fantastic. I did drain the kraut as some of the others had suggested but may leave a little bit in the next time. My husband commented that it looked a little different when I was serving it(because of the tomatoes) but was wowed when he tasted it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I love this recipe! I've made it several times and I've made these adjustments...First, I crisp the bacon and drain it, so the dish isn't so greasy, then I cut the sugar WAY back to 1/4 of a cup. In a pinch, I used an apple instead of a tomato and it was PERFECT. For a full meal, I also chop up sausage and mix in with the kraut/apple mixture. Just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States