Sauerkraut Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I love this recipe! I've made it several times and I've made these adjustments...First, I crisp the bacon and drain it, so the dish isn't so greasy, then I cut the sugar WAY back to 1/4 of a cup. In a pinch, I used an apple instead of a tomato and it was PERFECT. For a full meal, I also chop up sausage and mix in with the kraut/apple mixture. Just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
I substituted the bacon with 1 lb of Poska Kielbasa cut into bite size, browned and drained. I also cut the pepper back to 1/2 a tablespoon and will use a little less next time - a bit too hot for my taste. It is a wonderful change to the usual sausage and kraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
We had this tonight with our meal and loved it! I only changed the pepper amount. I just sprinkled a little bit and stirred it in, the hubby is sensitive to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Burgin, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
Very different and excellent. We doubled the recipe and loved it! Recommend cutting down on the pepper (about half would do).Will make believers out of people who don't even like sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
This was fabulous! My husband, who claimed to not like sauerkraut, loved it. I did not rinse the sauerkraut and cut down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I am in shock! My 3 year old tried this and asked for more!! He is the world's pickiest eater other than my 6 year old who did not like it--but that means NOTHING! LOL! I loved this--did rinse and drain the sauerkraut, cut back on the pepper and used real bacon bits and petite diced canned tomatoes ( I am lazy!)--this was AWESOME!! I loved it and will make again soon--will cut back on sugar next time just to reduce calories but it was great and I enjoyed it sweet! I am German and this is the real deal!!! :) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This is a fabulous recipe. I often take this when we're invited to friends for a barbque. The Slowcooker Sauerkraut and Sausage recipe on this site is another favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Dradi Malloy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This was fantastic! I also reduced the amount of pepper to about 1 1/2 teaspoons, and rinsed and drained the sauerkraut before using it. I made this for an "Oktoberfest" luncheon we had at work. I made two pans, one with the tomatoes and one with a 15 oz. can of tomato sauce because that is what I had in the kitchen. I am glad I made two because all of it was gone at the end of the hour. People liked both types and I have had to give the recipe to numerous people and still have people asking me for it. Great recipe, will definitely be making again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
I loved it and it was the rave for Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
I tried this recipe and loved the flavor, however think it would be greatly improved by reducing the amount of pepper in it. Could 1 tablespoon be correct? Seems like 1 teaspoon should be more like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States