Sauerkraut Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This brought back memories of growing up in Cleveland! I reduced the amount f flour because I cheese-cloth drained the sauerkraut (that I brought back from Bavaria!). I added ground pepper, too. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
All of my co-workers and I agreed: much better served chilled the next day instead of warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I had never heard of these. I am a huge sauerkraut fan and gave them a shot. I made some homemade 1000 Island dipping sauce. What can I say? These redefine the word awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue_Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made these for Christmas and everyone loved them. The recipe is time consuming, but maybe the next time i will make the mixture and shape the balls the day before. I had to pour the batter onto a plate and gently roll the ball around, as they are delicate and break apart when dipping into a bowl. Great flavor, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Outstanding! I skipped the batter as one reviewer suggested and did a traditional flour coating, egg dip, and toss in Panko crumbs. Served them at a ladies Book Club and everyone gave a big thumbs up! A bit labor intensive, but I made a batch and froze them ahead of time and that did the trick to save last minute prep. Oh, and I also served them with a side of Thousand Island dressing as one reviewer suggested - super yummy! Being a CA native, I had never heard of anything like these (nor my friends or family) and so now I am a big hit with the party crowd! It's my understanding that these are common in Ohio - so Hail to the Midwest for another crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Great sauerkraut balls!!! I've made this exact recipe several times, this time I used panko breadcrumbs because that was all I had. I wasn't sure how they would turn out but they were great, everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I'm another Ohio native that found himself missing these when I moved to Missouri. This is the best recipe I have tried. My dipping sauce (Horseradish Parsley Russian dressing) 1/2 c. Miracle whip 3 Tbls. Ketchup 2 Tbls. Sweet pickle relish 1 Tbls. Prepared horseradish Chopped parsley leaves I also use this dressing on my Reuben sandwiches with Dubliner cheese instead of Swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I am from Ohio and now live in Tucson, AZ. I have been missing Kraut Balls for years and have tried other recipes to no avail. This one is PERFECT! Just like I remember back home. Thank you for sharing it NC State Trooper. We served them at our own little Oktoberfest that we hold since the local one here has mostly Mexican and some Irish food with only one Marzen beer. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmay6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Wonderful!! First time trying them and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newfolden, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Angle Inlet, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Absolutly loved it! The only change I made was to add salt, pepper, basil and cayanne pepper to the batter. But they were a hit and everyone loved them. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States